Thanks, mom.

The things that go through people’s minds some days

For Christensen and her fiance, Shawn Ostroskie, the decision was simple. “Her dad and I both love sports and he has an older daughter,” Rachel Christensen, an administrative assistant at Rogue Community College in Grants Pass, Ore., said in a phone interview. “He didn’t want to have any more kids and then I was pregnant and I wanted him to be excited about being pregnant. I saw Espn in the name book and after that he was like, ‘Yeah, I’m gonna have a kid named Espn!’”

ESPN may be ubiquitous, but Espn the baby name isn’t. It doesn’t appear among the top 1,000 choices since 1980 for either a boy or a girl in the Social Security Administration’s database. Admittedly, not everyone gets the choice.

“We didn’t know if she was going to be a boy or girl, but we both liked it,” Christensen said. “Everybody thinks we’re crazy and nobody can say it right.”

Umm… they may have a point.

8 Comments

Filed under ESPN Is The Devil, General Idiocy

8 responses to “Thanks, mom.

  1. Judge.

    Makes sense. 7 was already taken, much to George’s chagrin.

    Like

  2. AthensHomerDawg

    While standing at the viewing glass after the birth of my first son and talking with another father, we exchanged the names of our first born. Mine an Old Testament name is honor of my wife’s grandmother’s husband who fled Lithuania with her but did not make it to the USA.
    He liked the name.
    His, Meconium.
    My reply. “Very unique”

    Like

  3. ugafidelis

    It’s been done before. I watched an Adam Sandler movie this weekend and he had a kid named ESPN.

    Like

  4. Just Chuck (The Other One)

    It could have been worse. They could have named the child Auburn.

    Like

  5. Stoopnagle

    Not so unique. I mean, it’s kinda Norwegian. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Espen_Knutsen

    Like