What’ll it take to put you behind the wheel of one of these babies today?

It turns out there’s at least one major program football player out there gainfully employed during the summer.

The Georgia nose guard is 6-foot-6 and 305 pounds, one of the biggest players on the Bulldogs defense and quite a sight at his summer job at Heyward Allen Toyota, where he has served as a greeter for four years now.

From the article, it sounds like Atkins shows up for work, which, given the first thing that crossed my mind when I thought about a football player on the payroll of a car dealership, is definitely a relief.

I’m also legitimately impressed that, in this day and age, he’s found the time to carve out to earn a few bucks on the side while still doing everything required of him for the team.  Helluva work ethic, my man.

10 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

10 responses to “What’ll it take to put you behind the wheel of one of these babies today?

  1. Effective sales techniques by John Atkins: https://youtu.be/QjEGYa6GlgA

    Like

  2. Bill M

    conjuring thoughts of Rhett Bomar.

    All jokes aside, that’s awesome to hear. Mad respect.

    Like

    • Macallanlover

      Except Rhett didn’t have to show up to get the cash. Long as compensation is reasonable, and he actually does something, he is untouchable.

      Like

  3. lakedawg

    College been good for this young man coming out of a small high school and I believe only a 3 star recruit. Might not make the NFL , but will be successful in life.

    Like

  4. Dawgflan

    I had the same first thought when I saw “working at a car dealership” – I am glad that is not what Kirby meant by millennial Oklahoma.

    Like

  5. Legit question: What is the difference between what Atkins is doing here and the UCF kid? Atkins working as a “greeter” sure sounds like getting paid for being a recognizable college football player. From everything I’ve heard, the UCF kicker’s youtube vids are not FB related at all (I haven’t checked myself, so not sure if that is accurate). Most players don’t have time for jobs, true, but the NCAA can’t stop them from working.

    Is it just because the payments received are from the sale of ads? Does that somehow cross the imaginary line into sports endorsements?

    Like

    • Customers size him up at first usually.

      “They don’t really think I play football until I tell them,” Atkins said. “They say, `’You’ve got to play something around here.’”

      To me, that doesn’t sound like he’s being promoted as a UGA football player.

      Like

      • I don’t think it is either *in reality. But the connection the NCAA is making to the kicker to me is almost as flimsy. I think I must be missing part of the argument for why the school gave him the boot.

        Like

  6. 92 grad

    I’m having a hard time reconciling this situation. When I was in school and on scholarship both with the redcoats and the school of music I and many others would be told by a variety of different faculty that they had been contacted by a high school band director that they were looking for students to help. Many of us made good money by going to high school band camps to administer auditions, coach sections, and assist on the field when learning halftime shows. We also had faculty giving us leads on jobs, for example I played many concerts with the savannah and charleston symphonies.

    I always thought that football team guys would similarly get opportunities to work with high school teams, helping coaches and programs for a little money. I’m sure there are a great many football camps too that would pay a bulldog to give pointers to the kids.

    Obviously, I’m led to believe that this would violate NCAA rules and these kinds of opportunities are the line in the sand for me where I believe these kids have the right to be able to earn money passing along knowledge and experience relative to their budding professions. It’s a shame.

    Like