Wide open

This is what passes for competitive balance these days.

And that’s with a bigger playoff field now.  Gosh, one can only imagine what’ll happen if they start paying players.



Filed under College Football

21 responses to “Wide open

  1. I would guess it was similar in the 70’s and 80.s


    • PTC DAWG

      Dooley, Paterno, Bryant…Majors? Who was the OU Coach?


    • TomReagan

      My quick count is that in 78 there were 4 active coaches with a championship… that was a bit of a break in eras with a lot of old timers retiring just before then.

      In 88 there were 9, which included Johnson, Schnellenberger, Holtz, Paterno, Dooley, Edwards, and Ford as newbies since 78.

      in 98 there were 6, although that number is a bit misleading. Erickson, McCartney, Stallings, Ross, Don James, Osborne, and Holtz all won titles between 88 and 98 but were not in the game for the 98 season, although Holtz, Erickson, John Robinson, Schnellenberger, and Ross would all return later.

      Those only include AP and UPI champs.


    • I would guess it was similar in the 70’s and 80.s

      Actually, the ’80s were crazy. Seven coaches won nattys (AP) for the first time in their careers that decade.


      • TomReagan

        You’re right, Senator. I should’ve drawn the line starting in 80 instead of 90 as the dawning of the more democratic era of coaching titles.

        As a whole, I feel like the 80s encapsulated the overall arc of what I saw from the 1960s to the present in a single decade.

        You had guys who’d knocked on the door for a long time like Dooley, Paterno, and Holtz finally break through, the rise of Miami, and the odd shooting stars like LaVell Edwards and Danny Ford. Very representative decade.


      • The point is that it isn’t radically different now.


  2. Who is Mac? And he doesn’t have Gus on there.


  3. The Dawg abides

    Mac Brown, and Gus hasn’t won a natty.


  4. Otto

    I would expect this list to shrink some as programs are not as likely to let a legend like Bowden or Paterno hang around.

    It would be interesting to to see how this list grows and shrinks. The 80s/90s didn’t have the coach dominance of even the late 60s/70s with the Bear, Devaney, McKay.


    • TomReagan

      It was interesting to look at the historical ebb and flow. There were a handful of coaches that hoarded them in the 60s through 80s — Bear, Devaney, Royal, Hayes, Switzer, the USC and ND guys — but also some odd guys who jumped up and snagged one — like Duffy Daugherty, Paul Dietzel, Danny Ford, and Johnny Majors.

      The 90s and 00s were more wide open with 10 coaches winning their first title from 1990-99 and 8 coaches winning their first from 2000-09.

      The one thing that stood out above all else was that in most instances it was either a long time, successful coach along the lines of Dooley, Royal, James, LaVell Edwards, or Paterno winning one or two for themselves at a good program (but also a program that was very closely associated with a particular coach) or one of the legacy programs like Alabama, Miami, Ohio State, Notre Dame, or USC that have had three or more coaches win titles.


      • Otto

        Bama’s run will end and when it does, I think we’ll be in for another run lwith a mix of the 90s and 00s with multiple teams getting in, SEC winning the most with an ACC challenger hanging in there.


  5. UGA '97

    Wait, no Scott Frost on this year’s list? Lmao


  6. Mick Jagger

    I’m just ready to add Kirby Smart to the list.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.