Musical palate cleanser, readers’ choice, part one

The last Playpen garnered a bunch of interesting suggestions, both in the comments and in a few emails I received, so I thought I would devote a week’s worth of MPCs to your picks.

Today’s selection comes from Uglydawg.  Here’s his write up:

Judith Durham Looks Back On ‘The Seekers’ & 60 Years Of Music | Studio 10 – YouTube

There’s a lot of video on Judith.

When she was young (and I was young) I was in love with her.  I wanted to marry her and so did a lot of other guys in the 60s and 70s.

Hell, I still might but my wife might has a problem with it.

Judith was so cute!

If you watch the performance or recording videos, you can’t take your eyes off of Judith (at least I can’t)

Judith  was also very humble and shy and considered herself to be not very attractive.

Her vocal and visual appeal were amazing.

The Seekers had some great hits, but the greatest was “If I Should Lose Your Love”.  There are some great videos of that recording session.

Also Judith really shows off her voice in “Georgie Girl”.

Judith could really, really belt out some vocals!

NEVER say anything adverse about her to an Aussie unless you are looking for an ass beating!

She is considered a National Treasure. (There is also a very interesting video where the Seekers performed “I Am Australian”, “Georgie Girl” and “Waltzing Matilda” in a packed football stadium in Perth or Sydney or one of those Down Under cities.

If you’ve got ten and a half minutes to watch this video, you’ll see one of the most amazing talents ever.

More to come…

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Musical palate cleanser, readers’ choice, part one

  1. Illini84

    Recorded at Abbey Road, 1964.

    Like

  2. Illini84

    Minor point, it’s Georgy Girl.

    Like

  3. Hogbody Spradlin

    Would you call that voice operatic? Powerful set of pipes. I didn’t know much about Judith Durham until just now, but that voice is easily recognizable.

    Like

  4. Hogbody Spradlin

    Who else remembers the movie Georgy Girl having a ZOMG cutting edge nude scene, that would be oh so tame today?

    Like

  5. David D

    I prefer Motorhead’s cover of this. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  6. 10 seconds in and I’m looking for Belushi to grab the guitar and smash it. To each his own.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. reer01

    You had to be there in that era probably to fully appreciate her

    Like