“Number one, easily.”

This is such a great story on a number of levels.

That’s what happened to Buford High School senior Brandon Sudge Friday night, except for one minor detail. He didn’t just experience it . He literally went on an official visit to Georgia. But how did Sudge, diagnosed with cerebral palsy after an injury that occurred at birth, end up spending Friday evening with some of The Bulldogs’ most high-priority targets?

Well, that’s largely due to the efforts of one of those targets, Hinds Community College (Raymond, Miss.) wide receiver Javon Wims, and Georgia head coach Kirby Smart.

“Javon had been a guy that had always answered interview questions for me, as I’m a writer for SicEmDawgs.com. I’m a high school senior with a disability, so I’m going through the college process as well and having to endure physical challenges daily,” Sudge told Dawgs247 via text message. “A couple weeks back, I had tweeted out a video of myself walking independently, as it had been the first time walking that length of distance in my lifetime. Javon kept saying how inspiring that was to him and how he would like for me to go to dinner with him and coach Smart on his official visit. He showed the video to coach Smart and then Kirby contacted Jess Simpson, the Buford head football coach. (I had been the football manager the past four years), and they got it set up in order to where I could make it an ‘official visit’ of my own, as I registered through NCAA eligibility.”

The visit wasn’t “official” by NCAA standards only. Sudge says that the Georgia coaching staff made sure of that. Entering the trip to Athens expecting to be able to stand to the side and soak it all in, something he’d have been happy to do, Sudge’s experience was completely different.

He was treated as if he were a four-star prospect with the ability to play a key role in Smart’s first year as UGA’s head coach.

“We walked into the reception area and every coach came up and greeted us as well as the recruits. Then throughout this period, each coach would come back over to us and try to get to know us more. Coach Smart introduced me to Javon, and his actions and ways of care really showed his utmost class, and that will bring great things to this university. He spoke with me for a solid hour before heading to Sanford.”

That Smart took the time during the home recruiting stretch and that Wims made the effort he did tells you that while Mark Richt may be gone, class still remains within the football program.  Well done, gentlemen.

19 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

19 responses to ““Number one, easily.”

  1. Timphd

    That’s awesome in a thousand ways. Good for Kirby and Javon.

    Like

  2. Way to go to all involved …

    Like

  3. Oh shit! we’re screwed! Smart is a good guy and a decent human being, who doesn’t just think about winning football games 24/7. He could have spent that hour talking to those other 4 stars who could help Ga win rather than performing a kindness for a fellow human being. Just kidding of course, kudos to Kirby and Javon.

    Like

  4. SAtownDawg

    Wims just became my favorite recruit…class move from all involved

    Like

  5. HVL Dawg

    Way to go Kirby.

    I’m pulling for you now.

    Like

  6. TnDawg

    The AJC has a story about EJ Price in a similar vein. Quality in human relations seems to be a theme with Kirby and his recruits. Very good stories and people. Nice to see.
    https://www.dawgnation.com/football/recruiting/beyond-the-stars-check-out-what-this-major-uga-target-does-off-the-field

    Like

    • Erk's Forehead

      Thanks, TnDawg. Was heading here to post the same link. I think the program’s gonna be just fine, character-wise. Congrats, all.

      Like

  7. Minnesota Dawg

    Wow, that’s fantastic.

    Like

  8. Absolutely Awesome!!!

    Like

  9. FarmerDawg

    👍👍

    Like

  10. lakedawg

    Good deed for the both of them, hope there is time for Paul Oliver network also from someone in Athens.

    Like

  11. FisheriesDawg

    This is a very encouraging sign that we’re not going to see every aspect of the Nick Saban Alabama program in Athens moving forward. Awesome.

    Like

  12. The other doug

    The Georgia Way

    Like

  13. Debby Balcer

    I read this yesterday and loved that he took the time. I hope he gets support for those efforts not vilified for taking the time away from recruiting five stars.

    Like

  14. Russ

    Great story, and I’m glad to know that Kirby took the time to make this fan feel special. I hope we get both Javon and E.J. as they seem like the type of young men I want representing my school.

    Like

  15. South FL dawg

    Great story. It’s why I love college football and my Dawgs. #SmartDawgs

    Like

  16. Great stories. On a more somber note I saw that Danny Ware lost a young child recently. Best of wishes to him and his family.

    Like