He’s not saying that’s the case. He’s just saying.

Tennessee sports writer hears “rumors” about one of the candidates for the open UT AD gig and decides to disseminate them in an column.

Anytime I asked someone, “What’s wrong with Blackburn?” I got rave reviews on what a great hire he would be. But I also heard rumors.

“I heard he has a drinking problem,” someone who doesn’t know Blackburn told me.

“I think he has health issues,” someone else who didn’t know Blackburn told me.

Then, someone who does know Blackburn said, “I think he has diabetes.”

“Some people think he’s too nice a guy to make tough decisions,” said someone else.

Gosh, I wonder who would try to start a whisper campaign like that.  It’s not like Phil Fulmer would stoop to that kind of thing to win a job, is it?

18 Comments

Filed under Because Nothing Sucks Like A Big Orange, The Glass is Half Fulmer

18 responses to “He’s not saying that’s the case. He’s just saying.

  1. Russ

    I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that a reporter would write something like that (and/or the editor would print it). But that borders on libelous.

    Like

  2. Hogbody Spradlin

    Somewhere, Lyndon Johnson smiles.

    Like

  3. Russ

    I wonder when he quit beating his wife.

    Like

  4. EmoryDawg

    That is awful reporting — just awful. Indicative of our times, I guess.

    Like

    • Derek

      Since the printing press was invented in 1440 bullshit has been printed. Before that they wrote bullshit down. Before they could write, they told each other bullshit verbally. Now it’s on the tv and the internet. Bullshit is nothing new. Only the delivery systems have changed. The only time man was free of bullshit was before language.

      I’m sorry but there ain’t nothing new under the sun and the common assertion that things were just so much better way back when ??? is tiring to me mainly because it’s also bullshit. Didn’t we just read on this blog about a week or so ago that LBJ put out a story that his opponent was a goatfucker in the 1940’s? That wasn’t new then and it ain’t new now.

      Like

      • Scorpio Jones, III

        Again, folks, if you read the damn story, Adams offers the guy a clear opportunity to rebut the bullshit, which he clearly does.

        Like

  5. Bright Idea

    But Fulmer is a picture of health, and young too!

    Like

  6. Walt

    There was a time when reporters got fired for printing bullshit (e.g., as recently as 2003 when Jayson Blair resigned from the NYT)? Now you get promoted for producing this kind of crap.

    Like

  7. JasonC

    I guess it comes down to a decision of would you rather hire a guy who is rumored to have diabetes or would you rather hire a guy who successfully dodged a subpoena in Birmingham and has evaded charges of pedophilia, but is a long-time Vol and former player.

    Like

  8. 69Dawg

    It is a well known fact that if Phil can just get all the other candidates in the hospital he a shoo in, just ask Johnny Majors.

    Like