Bill McCartney is a selfless man.

I think this qualifies as one of those “damn, son, I don’t think I would have said that” moments.

… McCartney was a candidate to replace Dan Hawkins, who was fired last month, but said his plan all along, had he been named coach, was to hire Embree and Bieniemy as assistants and groom one of them to take over as the head coach in two or three years. When it became clear he would not get the head coaching position, McCartney said he pushed for one of them to get the job, and hire the other coach as a top assistant.

“It was never about me doing it again,” McCartney said. “It was about setting the table for a black man to come in (as head coach). And he (athletic director Mike Bohn) hired one. Now, give him a chance.”

I’m not sure if he means Embree or Bohn there, but you get the point.  That may be the most non-politically correct expression of political correctness I’ve ever read.  And if the move doesn’t work out, you can already hear the criticism that will be directed at the AD for the hire.  (Not to mention that he’s devalued Embree with the comment.)  I’m sure he’s grateful for the attention.

7 Comments

Filed under General Idiocy

7 responses to “Bill McCartney is a selfless man.

  1. TennesseeDawg

    Any black man will do I guess (according to McCartney)

    Like

  2. Hogbody Spradlin

    This is off topic, but when Eric Bieniemy played, he was a living Emily Litella routine. Grannys all over (and well me too) were calling announcers biased because they said ‘the enemy’ had the ball.

    Like

  3. Bill McCartney

    In filling out the staff, my goal was at least one Puerto Rican, a Turkish Cypriot and someone from the Indian Subcontinent.

    I was also going to change the name of the team to the Boutros Boutros-Ghali’s.

    Like

  4. Macallanlover

    Good friend of mine is a CU booster, when he told me McCartney was on the short list I was glad it was in an email and not over the phone so he could not hear me laugh spontaneously. There are many imaginative offensive minds out there, CU will need that in the PAC10+.

    Full disclosure: I was one who felt the Hawkins move would work for them so I can’t say too much.

    Like

  5. almightytmc1

    Bill McCartney…..
    Patron Saint of Patronage.

    Like