Observations from the end zone, 2018 G-Day edition

Alrighty, then.  Hard to screw up a day in Athens with perfect spring weather, and the good news is that, except for the ass in the parking lot who thought it was great to blast — and I do mean blast — a lot of mediocre tuneage through his twin-speaker PA system, complete with DJ commentary, nobody did.

That includes the athletic department with its pass system that wound up doing nothing more than what was promised, namely, keeping track of where fans entered the stadium.  We showed up a couple of hours early and had no problem finding seats to our liking and in general, admission appeared to be an orderly process.  As much bitching as I do about things, it’s only fair to point out when they do no harm and such was the case there.

As for the game itself, it’s not hard to avoid drawing dramatic conclusions.  Smart wanted to emphasize the passing game and we were treated to an aerial display it’s very unlikely we’ll see matched during the season.  Given the walking wounded at running back and the opportunity to watch Justin Fields, I can’t complain as a spectator, but the after the fact analysis shouldn’t be looked at as etched in stone.

Still, this is an Observations post.  And with Observations, you get bullet points.

  • Kirby, you naughty boy.  After teasing us with comments all spring about how the offense was ahead of the defense and how we ought to expect a G-Day shootout, we got treated to a defensive display that, quite frankly, leads me to state for the record that I’m not worried about the first-team defense this season.
  • Breaking that down a little, in the secondary, LeCounte (man, he’s fast!) and Reed looked mostly great at safety, Poole showed me something at the Star position and Baker, no surprise, looks like a lock for All-SEC honors.  McGhee had his moments, although giving up the bomb wasn’t one of them.  Overall, it was a group that won more battles than it lost.
  • Inside linebacker?  Well, Natrez looked solid at second team, but the revelation was Monty Rice, whose name was called all day long, it seemed.  My one negative observation was that Nate McBride’s gonna have to work on his tackling technique.
  • Outside linebackers are going to be the strength of the defense.  Tons of depth and talent.  There’s something to the spring hype for Cox.  Tucker should have a lot of moving parts to mix and match for situational purposes.
  • The defense line was for the most part solid, if not spectacular.  If there’s a concern there, it’s that they seem to be missing that ability to penetrate and disrupt that Trent Thompson could bring.
  • Two things to pick on, defensively speaking:  nobody seemed to cover the backs coming out of the backfield on swing passes.  Herrien made a living on it all day, Hudson did well and Holyfield should have.  Second, as much as I liked out of the safeties, I saw them get beat on deep throws several times because of late reactions.  Given how last season ended, that’s something I’d rather not have observed.
  • It’s hard to judge the offensive line’s effort because of the spring game sack rule, but I will say it’s impressive how huge that first-team line looked.  Isaiah Wilson is a massive dude who can move well for a tackle.  Cleveland hasn’t gotten any smaller and Kindley is no midget, either.  If you were worried, Andrew Thomas already looks comfortable manning the left tackle position.
  • It wasn’t a day when the running game was emphasized, so, again, the most impressive thing I saw out of that bunch was how well Herrien did as a receiver.  Were I an opposing defensive coordinator watching the spring game tape, it’s one thing I’d file in the back of my head for future reference.
  • If there’s any area to take away some real hope for, it’s the receiving corps, which looks to have developed some depth.  No, the starting three of Godwin, Hardman and Ridley aren’t going anywhere, but Crumpton has really come on as someone who can make a tough catch.  Landers wasn’t as consistent as I’d like, but his touchdown reception was as good as you can do in that setting.  If he can keep that up, he’ll definitely be a real weapon in the red zone.  As far as the starting three go, Ridley looks like he’s really absorbed the confidence that came from stepping up in the national title game.
  • The tight ends played.  They even caught a couple of passes.
  • And that brings us to the quarterbacks.  No, it wasn’t one of Fromm’s better afternoons, but so what?  His day would have looked better if a couple of deep throws hadn’t been dropped.  On the other hand, some of those throws were what the professionals call “ill-advised”.  I’m not sure how much of that was being perhaps a little nonchalant in a spring game scrimmage and how much of that came from a game plan that over-emphasized the passing game, but I’m not going to lose any sleep over his day.  One big reason for that was watching the 57-yarder to Ridley open up on the pattern, seeing Jake recognize it and make the on-the-money toss.  I suspect there will be more of those coming.
  • I was excited by Fields’ showing.  Not in the “OMG!!!, he’s taking Fromm’s job!” sense, but, rather in terms of seeing all that talent and potential already being coached up.  He wasn’t perfect by any means, or even dominant, but he wasn’t rattled, made his share of checkdowns and can definitely hurt a defense with his legs.  He’s got a live arm that looks easy throwing.  His throw to Landers for his first touchdown was a real beauty, perfectly placed.  Yes, there is a reason to curb your enthusiasm a tad because he was working against the second team defense and a notable drop off in effectiveness in the secondary.  Still, Jim Chaney has to be salivating over what Fields can do with the RPO portion of Georgia’s playbook.  Bottom line:  there’s no way this kid is redshirting.
  • Because I know somebody’s gonna ask, it was fun watching Stetson Bennett, but, yes, he’s definitely on the slight side.  He’s got a decent arm and has some mobility, which is a good thing, because I worry he’s going to get snapped in two by an SEC defensive lineman one day if he gets caught.
  • You couldn’t tell much from special teams, but Marshall Long still has a long way to go in terms of recovering his ability to punt.  There will be a battle at punter come August.

That’s all I’ve got.  It’s a long ways to September 1st, and we’re all just gonna have to suck it up until then.

55 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

55 responses to “Observations from the end zone, 2018 G-Day edition

  1. Bright Idea

    Fromm forgot he wasn’t chunking it to Wimms.

    Like

    • Greg

      Thought that Kearis Jackson already looks like a man, he is put together. Kinda reminded me of Ronney Daniels (Auburn), big, physical & fast. Still thank the Lord, that is gone. What did he have that day of Georgia’s defense….200 receiving and 4 or 5 TD’s???…………….could not cover him.

      Like

      • Brandon

        Kearis Jackson looked like an SEC ready player already, he is built. That is one of the most interesting things about following recruiting which I have been doing for 20 + years, seeing who comes in ready to play and who doesn’t. While I agree that the recruiting services do a pretty good job and on the whole the more “stars” you get the better off you are, but there are always 3 stars who come in and are great players, 4 stars who end up being better than 5 stars and 5 stars who become decent players but nothing special. Then you have your A.J. Green’s who are everything they were cracked up to be and more.

        Like

  2. I imagine Jake Camarda(?) has been told to come in ready to compete for the punting job on day 1.

    I know it was expected, but Hot Rod seems to just be automatic now on both kickoffs and placements.

    Like

  3. Greg

    Pretty sure the defense knew the game plan coming in (offense)….pass, pass, pass. Hence, advantage defense. Plenty of talent on the D’……but I will still be worried/concerned about the defense until I’m not. We lost a lot of talent and most importantly leadership on that side of the ball. I believe the offense will be as good this year, if not better.

    Like

    • willypmd

      Alabama played a significant portion of the year with an all/mostly freshman LB core.

      Defensive talent is actually better this year albeit somewhat less experienced. I actually think this could be an elite defense by November

      Like

  4. Brandon

    Stetson played well I thought, but I really wonder how he sees anything. That in itself is pretty amazing, “on the slight side” is certainly an understatement, and I share your concern for his welfare. Still I have to say that while he’s no threat to Fromm or Fields as far as results he looked as good as Ramsey or Bauta ever did. I hope he gets some good mop up action against GT at some point in his career.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Otto

      I’d like to see Stetson standing beside Murray or Brees. It isn’t just height, Stetson just doesn’t have a very big frame. I’d still like to see Fromm start, and Stetson get 2nd string reps with Fields getting a red shirt if at all possible. I see some parallels between Greene/Shock and Fromm/Fields. Wish we could have had Shock 1 more year was very happy to see Greene for 4. I’d love to say the same for Fromm, and Fields get that 2nd year. Yes I know this may not be possible.

      Fields looks bigger than expected. Maybe he just looks smaller out of pads because he looks so young. I always take a bit of caution on the listed height/weight stats. He did look ready to be a very viable option for playing time if needed this fall.

      Like

    • Brandon

      Stetson’s little, it didn’t help that he was around Isiah Wilson, etc. but you are correct he’s smaller than Murray or Brees or even Doug Flutie. I’m really amazed he’s able to perform as well as he can considering. That long completion of his was very good, and he wasn’t out of his element making decisions, Ramsey never got that good at knowing what to do.

      Like

  5. Bill Glennon

    Team looked big and strong.

    Kirby looked big too, but not in a good way. Sinclair needs to get him on the elliptical.

    Like

    • 3rdandGrantham

      Kirby and I are very close in age, and I can personally attest that, once you get into your late 30’s/early 40’s, it’s very easy to put on weight, and your overall diet needs to be very clean with smaller meals as you progress through the day. I’m guessing that, due to his schedule, CKS works like mad all day while barely stopping to eat, then goes home at night and hammers on food, which is the absolute worst thing you can do.

      If I ate today like I did at 20 or even my early 30’s, I’d be 250 lbs of donut oil. Conversely, if I took my diet these days and applied that to when I was in my 20’s, I’d look like Stenson Bennett.

      Like

      • Otto

        lol true better than being Jared Lorenzen

        Liked by 1 person

        • 3rdandGrantham

          Funny Jared story from his UK days. When the coaches were trying to get him to lose weight and were unsuccessful, they finally resorted to having one of their assistant S&C coaches live with JLo during the summer so that he could watch over him 24/7 and get him to lose 40 lbs or whatever. Apparently the S&C coach in question was a workout freak and in perfect shape, so they assumed again he would be able to help Jared.

          Fast forward ahead to the end of the summer, and not only did Jared not lose weight, he actually gained weight. Even worse, the S&C coach suddenly had gained 20 lbs himself, and now was addicted to candy bars and Jared’s Xbox. Jared had actually managed to suck the S&C coach into his horrid lifestyle, and as a result wreck his health as well. When I heard one of the UK coaches tell this story I was literally in tears laughing.

          Like

    • Blame Pittman and Chaney, hehe.

      Like

    • ATL Dawg

      80% of our fan base needs to get on the elliptical.

      Someone should do a study about the correlation between being a football fan and being fat.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mayor

        Been to KnoxVegas on a fall Saturday lately? Talk about a fat ugly crowd.

        Like

      • 3rdandGrantham

        It’s not exercise as much as it is diet. The old saying that 80% of it is diet is absolutely true. Back in early/mid 20th century, very few Americans worked out, and they were far thinner than our fitness obsessed culture today. After all, you can get a run or bike ride in, burn 300-400 calories, then snack on chips or a few cookies and be right back to where you started or worse (as opposed to abstaining from any snacks and not working out).

        Like

        • We were a much more agrarian society in those days. People did hard physical work on the farm from sunrise to sunset. Also the Great Depression played a role in keeping people nice and trim. My dad joined the Army in 1939 so he “could get something to eat”. Completely different way of life.

          Like

        • S

          You’re right about diet. Over the past 4 years, I’ve lost 170 pounds through diet modification. From 365 to 195. A few years ago, when I was 300+ pounds, I was walking along the sidelines at G-Day, watching the game, and someone bounced off me. I turned my head to see a very startled Garrison Hearts giving me a WTF look. I daresay I’d be the one bouncing off of him now. It’s the best thing I have ever done for myself.

          Different things work for different people. Low carb and reduced portions worked for me, but long-term persistence is probably more important than anything else.

          Like

  6. sniffer

    Echoing your take, Crumpton is fast and McBride looks lost. Patrick looked like he took several plays off to me, but I’m not making a big deal out of it. Was Maria Taylor making a play for R pregame, or what?

    Like

    • Brandon

      They were talking a lot weren’t they? I noticed that when I got home and watched the telecast yesterday.

      Like

    • doofusdawg

      lol… agree with you and the Senator. Think Monty and Tae end up starting at ilb. Crompton needs to return punts. Cox was everywhere. Poole is our insurance in the secondary and will clearly be the next man up. Somebody is going to move to safety when everyone gets on campus and it won’t bode well for Bishop or Brini.

      And Holloman is a beast.

      Like

  7. Watched a little bit of the game. Not enough for any in depth analysis (that’s what I come here for), but just enough to conclude there is no way Fields redshirts. Very big, fast kid. Look forward to seeing him in mop up duty and situational plays this year.

    Like

  8. TomReagan

    Agree with most all of the observations, Senator, and will raise your praise of Cox. That guy’s going to be a stud. He put Mays flat on his ass with a straight bull rush at least once. Maybe some of it was that he was working against a fellow freshman, but he looks the part and showed some great physical tools.

    Like

    • Brandon

      We saw that too, you can tell Mays is used to playing against people he can just overpower. He’s in a different league now though, he’ll get it, he’s got to hone his technique though and learn to keep better balance.

      Like

      • DawgByte

        I thought Mays pretty much dominated McHail Carter all day long with the exception of one running play.

        Like

        • Brandon

          I’ll be honest, that observation is my uncle’s a long time high school DC and HC (now retired), he pointed a few things out to me but I’m not sure I can relate them intelligently. He thought a lot of Cade, just thought he’s got some room to grow and could see why he was second team at this point.

          Like

    • Argondawg

      Stood next to Cox for dinner about a month ago. He is a full grown man child. He probably started shaving in kindergarten. A year with Sinclair and Lawd he is gonna be a handful

      Liked by 2 people

  9. illini84

    The only thing I’ll say about the seating is that there were people who had their passes before the game.

    Like

    • Trbodawg

      Didn’t everyone get their passes before the game?

      Like

    • You had to wait until the game to get passes?

      Like

      • illini84

        Maybe I’m missing something, I thought you got the passes at the gate when you entered?

        Like

        • Starbreaker

          They had communicated that passes would be handed at upon entering the gates, however there were tons of people who were already holding passes they had gotten much earlier. The guy next to me had one (it was for 200 section) and said they handed them out to those who were there super early (this was at around 12:30 when I was talking to him). Didn’t end up mattering, but for a period there I was worried that they had handed them all out (the crowd at gate 2 was huge).

          Like

        • waterloodawg

          Huh. I don’t know. Greg dropped off ours Friday night at the bbq.

          Like

  10. Sanford222view

    McBride was a concern for me too. He seemed to struggle with tackling. I am assuming Patrick will be starting over him once the season rolls around.

    I thought the receivers looked really good as well. Holloman looks like he has bulked up and improved. I liked how aggressive he was with the ball.
    Landers makes me salivate as a redzone weapon. Biggest thing I saw the receiving corps needed to work on was leading the receiver on their passes! That was wide open, Mecole!

    Like

  11. Jack Burton

    JJ Holloman

    Like

  12. watcher16

    Any actual noticeable improvements with the sound system/new video board??

    Like

  13. Mg4life0331

    Yeah Ive been McBrides biggest fan. I loved watching him on kickoffs pop people. He didn’t do well Saturday. Here’s to hope.

    Like

  14. What stood out to me is how easy you can het thin at RB. Chubb and Michel are gone. Swift was hurt, leaving Holyfield and Herrian. Those guys are good, but IMHO they are not the game changing backs who can dominate a series and carry a team. I hope that Zeus is as good as advertised because we sure need him.

    Like

  15. DawgPhan

    Defense looked ahead of the offense, but that makes sense.

    If they stay outta trouble and work hard all summer they will be a very good team.

    Like

  16. Bulldog Joe

    G-Day was well-managed. Enjoyed it.

    The seating pass process was confusing, but it got people there well ahead of time and the lines to get in were shorter than usual, even with the construction (hello, Mercedes Benz Stadium). Restrooms were clean and the plumbing worked. Concessions…well at least we know what to expect with the volunteer staff.

    I was impressed with the pace of the scrimmage. With very few exceptions, the players were in the right place, ready to go. Considering how much substituting we did, it spoke well of how well-prepared the coaching staff and players were. I recall one penalty with 12 players, but overall it was clean with few offside and procedure penalties. Very different than years past.

    I expect Fields to get a lot of snaps in the opener as it makes the opposing DC’s preparation job more difficult in conference play. I liked how tall and physical our second wave of receivers are, and how quickly Crumpton can accelerate. It was fast and reasonably physical play (for a spring game) and no significant injuries sustained as far as I know. Weather was great and Athens is still Athens. Couldn’t ask for more.

    Ready for the season to get started.

    Like

  17. JT

    I will watch the replay again but I focus on defense and probably put that focus even more on LB’s but yes Rice was all over the field but I was a little unhappy where on the field he was. I will again confirm and watch the replay again but I would like to see him making more tackles closer to the line of scrimmage and not 5 yds down field. I share your observation of on Mcbride. I thought his play was great except for the most important part, finishing by making the tackle. He will be a contributor if he can correct that part and that can be accomplished with drills. I thought overall Smart is building a program that continues to move forward. The defense looks like it is loaded with talent they just need some playing experience. I also agree OLB is loaded and deep, Cox should be a star before he leaves.

    Like

  18. Macallanlover

    Most impressive for me was the quality and depth of receivers, even without Godwin on the field, and the secondary is closer than I thought to being adequate if the season started next month. Receivers will be better in 2018, we may not have the single superstar, AJ Green type, but we have a handful to worry every defense we play. And I will add to others’ comments, Holloman may not start this year, but he will be an impact player in a few games. Agree about Crumpton, he is a Joystick-type threat with the ball in his hands.

    Not worried about our LBs, inside or outside; you cannot replace an R with any one individual but collectively we won’t be taking a big step back. And I am not counting on Natrez when I say that, so if he contributes that is a bonus.

    Also not worried about Fromm, we know what he is and he strew 3 deep balls on the money. It’s Fromm’s team, who can doubt what that kid does under the bright lights? It will be a competition, but it will take some on-the-field creds for Fields to move him aside. Could it happen by mid-season? Not impossible but I think 2018 is Fromm leading every game and Fields closing the gap as he gains experience and makes his case for 2019.

    That said, I was more impressed with Fields passing ability than I expected, he just needs some live reps in early games. That touch pass on the fade was a thing of beauty, and he is effortless in throwing the passes that needed to be drilled, or thrown a long distance. No one doubts the RPO potential Fields will be able to demonstrate. And I will not complain if we see him run the Wild Dawg inside the red zone, perfect for that job as we utilize the forward pass for the first time since Gurley hurled it. Defenses will be in a pickle with Fields in that lineup. The mental comfort will come. Red shirting? No one can be serious about that. If you want to compete for championships, you have two talented QBs ready at a minute’s notice. I hope he plays the entire 2nd half of the Austin Peay game.

    DL was just OK, imo, but they are pretty much space eaters in Tucker’s defense with the LBs coming in for the kill. I didn’t find bit Trenton all that disruptive in his 3 years and think we will be just as good this season. we are thin at the position so injuries could make that a vulnerability. OL is best we have had in over a decade, and STs will be very good. New punter will be on hand, comes in highly regarded but he is unproven so wouldn’t be surprised to see some falloff. All in all, this team should be too much for the schedule we face, just a question of whether we can get the talent we have up to the test we will face in Atlanta, and perhaps beyond. 11-1, 12-0 is a pretty good pick, but a long time until December. Good days to a Dawg fan.

    Like