It was fate. Or not.

If you’ve ever wondered how Mark Richt got into coaching, here’s his story:

Richt: As far as getting into coaching: I tried to play pro ball, got cut by the Denver Broncos within a week’s time. And then I tried to be a life insurance agent, and my boss got thrown in jail. So I quit that. I tried to sell memberships in a club, and the boss fired me for not being productive enough.

I started valeting cars. Got in real good shape, thought I could play ball again. Tried out for the Dolphins. Got cut real fast again.

And then I needed a job. I look in the newspaper and found a job as a bartender. Got fired about the second week of being a bartender. The guy who fired me, he told me to stick around at 2 a.m., he had a job for me. I started cleaning the bar after everybody left., from 2 a.m. to 10 a.m. After I got really desperate doing that, after a week or two, I thought, there’s gotta be something I can do with my skill set.

I said, I know. I’ll be a coach.

I wonder what his first resume looked like.

4 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

4 responses to “It was fate. Or not.

  1. Hobnail_Boot

    I love how Richt talks about Jim Kelly, John Elway, and Dan Marino.. how that was God’s way of showing him what a good QB looked like since he wasn’t really seeing one in the mirror.

    I’d say he’s got a pretty strong track record of identifying QB talent.

    Like

  2. Bulldog Bry

    Listen to the whole story here (when you have some time):
    http://bufordpresbyterian.net/scott/dawgs/rcmr/
    I never tire of saying that we are blessed to have this man coaching our team.

    My favorite part is when he talks about “Lucky” Jim Kelly.

    Like

  3. David

    This quote from CMR is great too. Check out the “bitching” language – looks like “evil Richt” made the trip too..
    One other thing about that kind of deal: Coach [Bobby] Bowden always used to say at Florida State, ‘If you don’t like the job you’re in, and you want a better one, apply enthusiasm to the one you have.’ A lot of times people want to bitch about the job they got. They want this other job. In the meantime, they’re not going to do a very good job where they are. When people see you doing a good job, you get a chance to move up.

    Like

  4. HamDawg11

    Bulldog Bry, thanks a mil for that link!! I encourage everyone to check it out. You can listen at your desk as you work.

    I can truly say that I am proud to have Mark Richt as our head coach, regardless of what our record is, we’ve got a winner!

    Like