Steve Shaw had some enlightening comments about the celebration rule in the wake of the snafu that wrapped up the Utah-Southern Cal game last weekend.
My overall sense is that he thinks the rule is stupid and cumbersome. He doesn’t like it very much, in case you don’t get the point:
“There is a perception that this penalty is called differently in some parts of the country than it is in others. It’s really not. And keep in mind, it is not the officials doing this. It is the coaches. Not one official is on the rules committee.
“The rules are made by the coaches. This is what they agreed on and how they want the game run. We are trying to implement the rule they made.”
And how about this Tyler Bray-ish scenario?
… The penalized action must occur during the play for it to cause points to be taken down, as in a player celebrating improperly as he approaches the end zone. But, Shaw cautioned, it is not just the player who has the ball who can be flagged for the more serious offense.
“It is a spot foul,” Shaw said. “Say a quarterback throws a long touchdown pass and during the play he runs to midfield and does the throat-slash gesture to the opposing team.
“The ball would be returned to midfield and the 15 yards marked off from there. The touchdown wouldn’t count.”
This isn’t going to end well.