So near, and yet so far.

Me, too.

16 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

16 responses to “So near, and yet so far.

  1. Cojones

    Great quote. Great Dawg.

    Like

  2. uglydawg

    Perfectly said.

    Like

  3. Jeff Sanchez

    /throws up

    Like

  4. Rugbydawg79

    I still can not watch the replay I have saved on DVR-I should just delete it-for some reason I can’t bring myself to do that either!

    Like

    • Cosmic Dawg

      You should totally watch it again – I watched it a couple of weeks ago. For me, it doesn’t even really hurt – strangely, it wasn’t even devastating to me the night it happened…

      I can mope a for a day or two after a Florida loss and last year’s Sakerlina loss had me down for a week…but not the SECCG, even though like the rest of you, I was serious about that game, I was in it, heart and soul, partly because I just loved this particular Bulldogs team so much.

      Maybe it was just such a great game you almost couldn’t hate anything about it, even losing. Our guys gave it everything they had and just came up short…but it’s one of my favorite games ever.

      Like

    • Go Dawgs!

      I had it on my DVR for a month. I finally deleted it. I’ll never be able to watch that game again.

      Like

  5. Irishdawg

    I’m over that game. Really. (Murders hobo). Completely moved on.

    Like

  6. Cojones

    Feelings of nausea occur when remembering individual ferocious hits taken by Aaron while setting that record.

    In my mind’s eye often may be seen the image of a great hand that fits around his ankle like a prison bracelet (with a chain attached to a 240 lb LB) with a vise grip that will never give as Aaron is jerked back and slammed to the ground;..then a body shot to the ribs with the same wt attached; …then speared or unceremoniously popped while passing the ball;… then a hit that ends with the tackler’s full weight on top as he begins to hit the ground, slowly responding to teammates’ and fan’s anxious calls as he looks disoriented while getting up to call the next play and continue to let himself in for punishment within 40 secs:- those scenes and feelings add another dimension to his record passing and offensive stats

    Like

  7. Merk

    Is “5 more yards” going to be this years theme?

    Like

  8. AthensHomerDawg

    Stop bogarting Cojones….. pass it over to me. You can roll another one.

    “I don’t know what to say really. Last series. Murray moving us down the field we are in the biggest battle of our collegiate lives. It all comes down to a tipped pass. Now either we heal as a team, or we’re gonna crumble. Inch by inch, play by play, till we’re finished. We’re in hell right now, gentlemen. Believe me. And we can stay here, get the shit kicked out of us, or we can fight our way back into the light. We can climb out of hell. One inch at a time.

    Now I can’t do it for you. I’m too old. I look around, I look at these new faces, and I think… I mean I’ve made every wrong choice a middle-aged man can make. I pissed away all my money, believe it or not. I chased off anyone who’s ever loved me, and lately, I can’t even stand the face I see in the mirror. You know when you get old in life, things get taken from you. That’s part of life. But you only learn that when you start losing stuff. You find out life’s this game of inches. And so is football. Because in either game, life or football, the margin for error is so small. I mean… one half a step too late or too early and you don’t quite make it. One half second too slow too fast, you don’t quite catch it. The inches we need are everywhere around us. They are in every break of the game, every minute, every second. On this team, we fight for that inch. On this team, we tear ourselves and everyone else around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches, that’s gonna make the fucking difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying! I’ll tell you this – in any fight, its the guy whose willing to die who’s gonna win that inch. And I know if I’m going to have any life anymore, it’s because I’m still willing to fight and die for that inch. Because that’s what living is! The 5 yards in front of your face…”

    Like