If you’re goin’ to San Francisco…

A couple of weeks ago, some commenter here had a good point that it’s kinda silly to talk about “class” in the context of college rivalries.

But every good rule has its exceptions. And this one’s no different. That’s why Georgia Tech exists.

It’s not what the average Jacket fan thinks passes for witty banter that qualifies. Or he/she/it living vicariously through other schools (a lot of ’em were playing and singing “Rocky Top” after the game) – when you haven’t beaten your biggest rival this millennium, that’s to be expected.

It’s the sanctioned crudity that reminds you what a special place Georgia Tech really is.

I had to use the facilities at BDS before the game. I couldn’t help but notice the placement of splash guards in the toilets, thoughtfully bearing the phrase “Piss on them Dawgs”. Now that’s class. (Of course, it probably does help with the aim of their fanbase, but I digress.)

I want to be bigger than that, though. After all, Georgia is headed to a BCS game. And Tech… well, if we’re to believe the folks at CFN, Tech will get to enjoy a trip to Boise to play on the blue turf in the first Roady’s Truck Stops Humanitarian Bowl game (I called that one months ago, by the way). However, others think that Tech will return to the Emerald Bowl. In honor of that possibility, I thought I might offer this musical thought as a tonic to sooth the beast that rages in all Jacket fans’ souls this morning.

I have to admit it didn’t seem to provide much comfort when I was singing outside of BDS after the game yesterday.

1 Comment

Filed under Georgia Tech Football

One response to “If you’re goin’ to San Francisco…

  1. Pingback: Miscellany « Get The Picture