My, aren’t we sensitive.

Maybe I’m missing something here, but I’m having a hard time seeing how this is a shot against the Southeast.

The NCAA’s decision to ban satellite camps was faced with harsh criticism throughout the coaching community, but Stanford coach David Shaw didn’t seem upset about the new rule.

He actually used that rule to insult the intelligence of SEC country.

Shaw said via SB Nation:

“I’m great with whatever college football says, because it doesn’t affect us. It doesn’t make sense for us to go hold a camp some place where there might be one person in the entire state that’s eligible to get into Stanford.”

Stanford’s prestigious academics obviously impact its recruiting. But Stanford also recruits nationally, and the Southeast is a major part of the Cardinal’s recruiting footprint.

As the article itself goes on to note, Shaw has twenty kids on his roster from our neck of the woods.  I know he’s a college football coach, but I assume he can count the difference between one and twenty.  Then again, I’m from the Southeast, so what do I know?

I guess we should count on USA Today trying to hammer him at the next press conference about why he’s insulted an entire region of the country.  I just wonder how many of the journalists who’ll question him on that could meet Stanford’s admission standards.

20 Comments

Filed under General Idiocy, Media Punditry/Foibles

20 responses to “My, aren’t we sensitive.

  1. JG Shellnutt

    I wonder how that comment sits with Demetris Robertson, as he tries to get into stanford.

    Like

  2. ASEF

    He was clearly talking about Wyoming.

    Like

  3. Noonan

    Someone needs to ask him to name the states to which he refers. It is interesting that despite all of the stupid political correctness on campuses, it’s okay for an employee of Stanford to insult millions of people.

    Like

  4. Lrgk9

    In the words of the famous Blogsta Blutarsky from Georgia: “Asshat”.

    Like

  5. 3rdandGrantham

    I didn’t interpret that as him insulting the southeast, but rather him simply opining that very few select athletes can get admitted to Stanford. In other words, if the satellite camps were big in, say, the Midwest or the Mid-Atlantic region, he’d probably say the exact same thing. And he would be right.

    As for him having 20 players on his roster from his region, after a quick glance I counted nine different southern states represented from Fr thru Sr. So recruiting/signing just 1 athlete per state from the region yearly far more than trumps the current geographical makeup of his current team.

    Like

  6. SWGADAWG

    I wonder…..was Shaw a Stanford alum? If not reckon he was eligible for Stanford?

    Like

    • Gravidy

      Yes, he went to Stanford. Yet he somehow still doesn’t know his quote should have been “one person in the entire state who’s eligible” rather than “one person in the entire state that’s eligible”. 😉

      Like

  7. Go Dawgs!

    Reminds me of the (former!) Syracuse coach who thought it would be smart to tweet about how soft-nosed southerners were in the face of a major winter storm while also trying to recruit some of our favorite sons to come play for his school. Congrats on the high admissions standards, coach! I hope that none of the bright academic lights you’re recruiting in Georgia are smart enough to read your comments and have their home state pride be insulted!

    Like

  8. Nate Dawg

    I’m not too offended by this cuz I think he’s just speaking mostly in generalities and could mean anywhere technically. And who’s got time to be offended anyway?
    But if he is ‘a frontin’ on the South specifically it’d be nice to see some media types call him out. In my experience the South seems to be the punching bag of this country – late night shows, media, etc. and if everyone else can demand respect and political correctness, why can’t we?

    Like

  9. Normaltown Mike

    I will say that Stanford has a reputation of being against everything west of the Rockies in athletic recruiting. My brother was a college athlete and recruited by Ivy League, Big 10, SEC, ACC etc. but couldn’t get a sniff from Stanford (which was where he wanted to go – of course).

    Like

  10. Ernest T

    If Stanford plays a southern team this year I wonder what kind of tribute the Standford band will have for Shaw’s comments. Simulated incest, perhaps? Oh wait, I’m sure they’ve already done that.

    Like

  11. Walt

    If those sumbitches at Stanford are so smart, why the hell are they playing football: http://time.com/4289745/nfl-concussion-symptoms-treatment/

    Like

  12. Cousin Eddie

    bless his heart, not that I would have offered him some sweet tea anyway.

    Like

  13. Not well thought out by the representative from Northern California. It can’t be a positive for him, and now he coming across as a Harbough wanna-be.

    Like