Updating the 2017 depth chart

Dawgs247 takes a crack at revision after watching a week’s worth of practice.  Yeah, it’s presented in slideshow format, but it’s not like you’ve got anything better to do in early April.

If you don’t want to go through the tiresome exercise, allow me to provide a few highlights.

  • In a shocking upset, Jacob Eason is still listed at first-string quarterback.  (I keed, I keed.)
  • Running back depth appears ridiculous… until you think about the injury history at the position Georgia’s been plagued with over the past few seasons.
  • Tight end depth may be even more ridiculous.  Of course, we all know what that usually is worth.
  • Holloman must really be impressing observers, as he’s now listed as the first team split end, along with Ridley.
  • There appears to be a lot of depth on the d-line, too.
  • You can see the restocking going on in the secondary, as the majority of backups are freshmen.

8 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

8 responses to “Updating the 2017 depth chart

  1. Interesting to see Holloman getting as much pub. Color me skeptical he ends up that way come September, but it’s nice to see now. We all know UGA is in desperate need of go-to WRs.

    Like

    • Puffdawg

      I just keep wondering if we are really as thin at WR as people keep saying. Between Ridley, Wims, Stanley, Goodwin, Chigbu, and now Holloman, we don’t have a WORLD of potential at the position? And that doesn’t count Hardeman (or Woerner). Drops plague us last year I thought, so if they can get past that, the sky’s the limit.

      Like

  2. Justin

    I know this is an exercise in futility, but can we at least entertain spring happy thoughts about us rolling out 2-3 TE/WR hybrid sets? We could absolutely overpower teams with our run game and short passing to Blazevich, Nauta, Woerner, and Harris. Our offense could have a dynamic that no one else in the nation could prepare for.

    To dream……

    Like

  3. paul

    How do we keep recruiting these tight ends only to have them spend their entire careers blocking? Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad we have the talent but if I’m an 18 year old I’d be paying attention to the difference between what the coaches are telling me and what actually happens on the field.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Macallanlover

    RB depth….hasn’t been that long ago when we down to the 7th and 8th level. Who would ever have expected that to occur? We have great depth again this season at RB but a UGA fan can never get too comfortable because we have been burned like no other.

    Like

  5. Yeah, it’s presented in slideshow format, but it’s not like you’ve got anything better to do in early April.

    You are aware it’s Masters week, right?

    Like

    • Macallanlover

      +1 And every day of the week is filled with excitement for me. Admittedly obsessive about this even, it is my favorite week in sports. I read less about UGA football this week than any other week of the year. Yeah, I skipped the slideshow.

      Like