Even Fox doesn’t want to listen to Thom Brennaman call BCS games anymore.

Talk about throwing in the towel

Speaking of the BCS: Will FOX Sports televise the final year of its contract? Remember that back in 2007 FOX jumped into the BCS sweepstakes and took it away from ABC by paying $80 million a year. When the contract came up for bid last year, ESPN outbid FOX by putting up $125 million a year for 2010-13. FOX has one more season, 2009, on its current deal to televise the BCS games. But there are some rumblings that FOX could sell those 2009 rights to ESPN if the Worldwide Leader made them an offer they couldn’t refuse.  Because the BCS championship game is being hosted by the Rose Bowl this season, it will be on ABC, of which ESPN is a part.  Stay tuned on this one.

Not that I’m complaining here.  Indeed, Fox should be congratulated for seeing the error of its ways.  Hell, throw it a little TARP money if that’ll help make this happen.

7 Comments

Filed under College Football, It's Just Bidness

7 responses to “Even Fox doesn’t want to listen to Thom Brennaman call BCS games anymore.

  1. That news would make me smile….big.

    Like

  2. Dawg93

    This would make me very, very happy.

    Like

  3. LawDawg

    But then I won’t be able to watch the game without the “Jumper” Cam brought to you by “Jumper”.

    Like

  4. DawgBiscuit

    It’s in the public’s best interest that Fox doesn’t broadcast college football anymore. Many viewers developed diabetes after listening to Brennaman talk about Tim Tebow during the NC game.

    Like

  5. Hobnail_Boot

    I had to watch a commercial before I was allowed to post this, and I’ll have to watch another one after hitting ‘submit’

    Like

    • dean

      I had to watch shots of the band before I could post this and I’m sure I’ll have to watch more shots of the band after I hit submit.

      Like