Musical palate cleanser, let’s begin edition

Here’s one more MPC featuring a Fairport Convention alumni for you.

I mentioned in my Richard Thompson post the day a friend of mine who used my Thompson shtick to impress people.  My buddy was a drummer, and as much as he liked Thompson, he loved Dave Mattacks, who was Fairport’s drummer at the time.

Mattacks was also much in demand as a session player and this is from one of my favorite gigs of his, XTC’s Nonsuch.  “The Ballad Of Peter Pumpkinhead” is the album’s opener and if you play this on a decent stereo with a little grunt, Mattacks’ initial burst will make you jump in your seat.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Musical palate cleanser, let’s begin edition

  1. Dawg Vegas

    Love me some XTC, always.

    Heard the new AP-penned Monkees songs? I understand the whole thing is great

    Like

    • Go-kart Mozart

      I got the download, so I don’t know who wrote what, and the album is really a lot better than I’d expected. I see that it’s even hit #23 on the Billboard album chart. “Whoda thunk it”, as the Beaver would have asked?

      Like

  2. 3rdandGrantham

    Love at First Sight and This is Pop are two solid hits of theirs. I’ve always liked XTC though none of my other friends have ever heard of them.

    Like

  3. paul

    I still listen to XTC fairly regularly. Like y’all, most of my friends had no clue though the album art for Drums and Wires always made an impression on them.

    Like