Musical palate cleanser, gritty King edition

We haven’t had Elvis Presley grace GTP with his presence in quite a while, so I thought I’d share my favorite obscurity of his.  It’s from a bootleg album.

One on my favorite Elvis albums, even though it’s a bootleg, is Cut Me & I Bleed released on Double G Records. The album is a collection of alternate studio, home, and live rehearsal recordings that present “another side” of Elvis. Pedestal removed, Cut Me & I Bleed chooses to present “The King” in a raw, more human, and often explicit manner, one that often eschews the family friendly image constructed by the Elvis foundation.

Of all the tracks (22 in all), the real gem of the bunch, and a personal favorite, is Presley’s stripped down rendition of Percy Mayfield’s “Stranger in My Own Home Town” (studio rehearsal version, July 24, 1970). I can’t think of a more appropriate song for Elvis to cover at this time in his life. Set amongst friends in a rehearsal jam session, Elvis gives one of the rawest, grittiest, yet honest and soulful performances I’ve ever heard from him.

It’s an extended blues riff and the King gets a little dirty with the lyrics here and there, but it’s both stripped down and heartfelt as hell.  See what you think.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Musical palate cleanser, gritty King edition

  1. Granthams replacement

    I believe N. Dean will evolve into a Roquan role.

    Like

  2. Swampdawg

    So were Ron Tut and James Burton in the band playing on this track?

    Like

    • It’s a bootleg, so there’s no official listing of musicians, but on the final version of the song that was released, here’s who played on it:

      Guitar: Reggie Young, Elvis Presley.,Bass: Tommy Cogbill. Drums: Gene Chrisman. Piano: Bobby Wood, Elvis Presley, Ronnie. Organ: Bobby Emmons. Harmonica: Ed Kollis. Trumpet: R.F.Taylor, Wayne Jackson, Dick Steff. Sax & Trombone: Jackie Thomas. Sax: Glen Spreen, J.P.Luper. Trombone: Jackie Thomas, Jack Hale, Gerald Richardson, French Horn: Tony Cason, Joe D’Gerolamo. Vocals: Mary (Jeannie) Green, Donna Thatcher, Susan Pilkington, Mary Holladay, Dolores Edgin, Hurshel Wiginton, Joe Babcock, Millie Kirkham, Sonja Montgomery

      Like

  3. CannonDawg

    Really nice find, Senator. It sounds as if EP had as much fun recording it as I did listening to it. Thanks for posting.

    Like

  4. Mick Jagger

    Reggie Young also played that great guitar on “Drift Away”. Often credited to Steve Cropper – another fine player.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. NCDawg

    Can you still find this Senator ? If so where should ya look for such a diamond of The King

    Like

  6. Red Cup

    For a second there I thought I was watching Deadwood.

    Like

  7. Muttley

    Captures the same magic as his famous sit-down for NBC’s cameras two years earlier in Burbank. Amazing that I hadn’t heard this…thanks for posting it.

    I don’t really see why the estate would sit on this, given some of his onscreen comments about groupies in “Elvis on Tour”, which came out when he was alive.

    Like

  8. UnderDog68

    Ah, Elvis….My parents loved him. I was more interested, however, in the part of their record collection than contained Motown artists, The Beatles, and the first Led Zeppelin album I ever heard….Led Zeppelin II.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Muttley

      Cannot begin to relate to having parents who owned Zeppelin II. For my early thirties-born folks, popular music was assassinated by Elvis in 1956. Mom came around on the Beatles in her last years.

      Like

  9. Dawg19

    This is fantastic!

    Thanks for posting!

    Like