Adventures in G-Day expectations: “We’re not going to try and trick anybody. We just want to see who can play defense.”

Yeah, I know there’s a lot of downplaying going on in advance of today’s scrimmage.

Coach Mark Richt said he thinks Pruitt’s unit will probably be pretty vanilla since G-Day will be televised on CSS and fair game for opponents to scout. But Richt said the Bulldogs will play “some good, solid fundamental defense.”

Pruitt certainly hopes so.

“I hope they see us get lined up,” Pruitt said. “I hope they see us play hard every snap. I hope we tackle well. I hope we play the ball in the deep part of the field. Just fundamentals, striking blockers, keeping the ball leveraged. That’s what we’ve been harping on all spring. Hopefully they’ll see that.”

You know what?  I could friggin’ live with that.

Aside from whatever progress Pruitt has been able to coax from his troops, I’ll be keen to see how the offensive line’s work in progress is… well, progressing.

And I’ll be rooting for J.J. Green.

“I told my whole city to come out to the G-Day game,” Green said. “I told my whole town. I put it on Facebook. I want everyone to come to the G-Day game. It’s going to be a wonderful weekend and I hope it’s a sunny day.”

The weather’s not gonna let you down today, so show us what you’ve got, man.

**********************************************************************

UPDATE:  Rosters, bitchez!

15 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

15 responses to “Adventures in G-Day expectations: “We’re not going to try and trick anybody. We just want to see who can play defense.”

  1. gastr1

    “I hope they see us get lined up.” Have to chuckle at that. Reading between the lines: “I hope they see we have our shit together this year and won’t be as easy to confuse.”

    Like

  2. Bob5555

    PLEASE cut out all the newly found enthusiasms for words like “bitchez” etc. I like my kids to be able to look at the screen I am reading (and they DO) and be proud of my association with UGA and others. There is no need to gutter-ize and ebonics-ize this site. Let alone the fact that many of our older daughters read this site. There still is a wide majority of the population that associate that word negatively against women. We just don’t need to go there anymore please.

    Thank you.

    Like

  3. What fresh hell is this?

    That seems like a pretty good four-deep at QB.

    Speaking of rosters, DGB just bounced from Mizzou . . .phone lines ablaze at Auburn.

    Like

  4. budro

    Vavlas! Can’t believe that guy’s still around. One of my favorite under-the-radar Dawgs.

    Like

  5. Scorpio Jones, III

    I hope Hudson is tough.

    Like

  6. Scorpio Jones, III

    Thank God…they gonna clean up the bathrooms at the stadium.

    Like

  7. Russ

    Hr had me at “get lined up”.

    Like

  8. Lrgk9

    Mason looks like he can handle
    a ginsu knife just fine. Had one long pass was in the air 52-53 yards.
    Bautua looked good form wise but tunnel visioned.
    Ramsey didn’t shine. Park impressed.
    Aaron Davis looked legit IMO
    Turman and Douglas are bunker busters.
    Gurley is a man among boys.
    Pyke looked good but the other 2nd team OL guys lookef 2nd team.
    Dal and LBs are solid, DBs not so much.

    Trammel Terry can get separation as a WR.

    Like

  9. Scorpio Jones, III

    If what I saw was real, I sho do hope Mr. Gurley is not really interested in a bunch of running back awards…lets hope that offense was not the real one.

    Gurley may very well be a man among boys, problem is, they’s more of them than they is of him.

    Like I said earlier I hope Mr. Mason is one tough cookie, cause the options are not thrilling at this point.

    I hope our D line is all world…they looked pretty good today, we’ll know more the first week, if they are all world then the O line is not as lethargic as it looked on all but two or three running plays.

    Nobody looked bad hurt, but I am sure as hell worried.

    Like

  10. Normaltown Mike

    Was Mason’s first pass tipped? I hope so.

    Gurley is clearly our best player, by a country mile

    Like

  11. Turd Ferguson

    Watching the replay now. Impressions so far:

    The defense is at least getting lined up and set without looking like they just regained consciousness and found themselves on a football field.
    Within 0-10 yards, Hutson Mason looks like an absolute marksman. Anything beyond about 15 yards, though … looks like he’s just closing his eyes and heaving it. Hope I’m wrong. Our offense works best when the long ball is a real threat.
    There just aren’t enough words for how incredible Todd Gurley is. Please, football gods, let him stay healthy.

    Like