The most important game this week

Georgia Tech.  Georgia Tech.  Georgia Tech.

Lots of interesting undercurrents to this game, besides the obvious bragging rights.

One of which is Chan Gailey’s job prospects.  It sounds like both coaches have that on their minds.

“I am coaching the best I can coach,” Gailey said. “Week in and week out, that is all I can do. I can’t worry about all that other stuff. I am trying to do the best I can do day in, day out. I don’t worry about all that other stuff.”

The way schools hire and fire has Richt worried.

“You just don’t know sometimes what makes people decide what they want to decide,” Richt said when asked about Gailey’s future. “The one thing people tend to miss somewhere along the way is that the other teams are pretty good, too. Those other teams, they’ve got nice facilities and nice stadiums and they have great athletes.

“I just don’t think people give the opponents enough credit,” Richt said. “It is a very, very highly competitive situation. The bottom line is one team is winning and one team is losing every week.”

Georgia’s been outcoached and outplayed once this year by a team whose coach was rumored to be on his last legs.  In one form or another, I have no doubt that Richt is reminding every player and coach about what happened in Knoxville earlier this year.

Comments Off on The most important game this week

Filed under Georgia Football, Georgia Tech Football

Comments are closed.