Bobo sets himself up.

Georgia’s coordinators met with the press yesterday.  It’s the time of the year when I’m grateful for any tidbits those gentlemen are willing to throw out, and for any observations that the media can share.  It’s a minor thing, but I like the way Emerson set his piece up:

Todd Grantham was calm and measured, like he was the one about to open practice with an all-star lineup. Mike Bobo, on the other hand, preached about urgency, and at one point got a bit chippy with the media.

Bobo, unlike Grantham, has to fight complacency with his group, so chippiness is welcome.  That being said, this is one of those comments that’s going to draw the attention of the football gods.

“We want to lead the league in having the least amount of turnovers. We don’t want to have a lot of penalties. We don’t want to have missed assignments,” he said.

Great goals, no doubt.  But you can see where this is headed.  Opening night.  Large and noisy road crowd.  Dawgs line up for their first play on offense in 2013… and one of the linemen moves before the snap.  Penn Wagers smiles.

As long as it’s not an omen of things to come.  Those football gods can be tricky.

22 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

22 responses to “Bobo sets himself up.

  1. Not to be too monotheistic, Senator, but there’s only ONE god of college football:
    http://www.everydayshouldbesaturday.com/2008/10/29/the-schedule-has-changed-i-work-on-wednesday-now/

    Like

  2. mwo

    It would be more like ” Penn Wagers experiences PE in his panties”.

    Like

  3. Keese

    2010 most returning OL starters, 2011 special teams, 2012 defense…..are we back to offense again? I hope not

    Like

  4. paul

    Yeah, you had to go and say it didn’t you? But you’re probably right. Theus will will likely jump offside on the first offensive play of the season. As long as Gurlley rips one off once we get settled down I’ll be okay. But I’ll still cuss and scream and my wife will tell me to settle down or she’s not going to watch the game with me. Dang, I can’t wait. I’m getting way too excited for it not to even be August yet.

    Like

  5. uglydawg

    Looks like Bobo is in the “this is too good to be true” zone. There’s a thing called “Murphy’s Law” that has him spooked. He knows he has been given a straight flush. Everyone’s expectations are sky high and he’s diligently addressing every possible thing that could (Murphy say “and will”) go wrong. The biggest fear is over-confidence.

    Like

  6. Cojones

    Think you are correct, Ug. Didn’t you like the “Murray is an extension of staff on the field” comment? Providing for play extension by getting him back to running brings up some fine memories of Murray’s first year when he ran. Like to see the replays of some of those runs just to get us in the mood for his upcoming year. And Gurley chimes in during a huddle and exhorts players like a leader should…and he is just entering his Soph year! Ummm, Umm. Lickin’ my chops.

    Bobo is now imitating Saban by trying to fight complacency. What does that mean? It means that the team thinks they are good before Fall Practice starts. They can play Clemson and SC with a measure of confidence. Everything seems to be coming together for an outstanding season if Bobo keeps his machine cogs humming the same tune.

    Now look what happened! Have to change my Depends.

    Like

  7. DawgByte

    I almost hate football season!!!

    I know during that time of year I’m taking off 6 months to my overall life expectancy, because I start getting uptight every Thurs. before a game and by the time Saturday rolls around I’m a wreck. Knowing how important the Clemson game is for setting the tone for this season I would expect the personality to start morphing a week early.

    Somebody help me!

    Like

    • AusDawg85

      The entire text of the letter USCe sent to the NCAA of its detailed findings:

      “Jadaveon Clowney”

      Like