“I gotta take care of my boys.”

Kirby Smart and the beat writers, a short story:

Kirby Smart had a session outside the main room with reporters, local and national. When a UGA spokesman declared it over, the national writers walked away but Smart and the local writers stayed.

“What else you got?” Smart said to the beat writers.

There was a pause.

“I gotta take care of my boys,” Smart said.

“OK,” the team spokesman said, smiling.

“As long,” Smart said, “as Seth doesn’t ask me about facilities again.”

So obviously I then asked about facilities.

That’s pretty funny on both ends.  Maybe Kirby can give McGarity a few pointers.

5 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football, Media Punditry/Foibles

5 responses to ““I gotta take care of my boys.”

  1. Good for Kirby. He’s been prickly with them at times but generally has handled the local media pretty well.

    Like

  2. The other Doug

    He is starting to to understand the damage they can do if they don’t like you.

    Like

    • Don in Mar-a-Lago

      We shall fight them on the Palm Beaches, we shall fight them on the golf course grounds whatever the cost may be because it’s not my money, we shall fight them in the hills, the dales, and in the valley of the shadows of death and we shall never surrender.

      Like

  3. In a good mood today. Good for all involved

    Like

  4. W Cobb Dawg

    Could this mean somebody in cfb is actually working to improve their p.r. skills?

    Like