Musical palate cleanser, blues is pain edition

I had the pleasure of seeing 81-year old Buddy Guy in concert Friday night.  It’s easy to toss the word legendary out there, but listening to him talk about the blues greats he played with, it’s a legitimate description for him.  He’s still got his guitar chops, too.

Although he didn’t play this, it’s my favorite song of his.  From his A Man and the Blues album, it’s an awesome cover of Mercy Dee Walton’s “One Room Country Shack”.

And, as a bonus, here’s a live version from the late ’70s.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Musical palate cleanser, blues is pain edition

  1. paul

    I just watched the Festival Express, a documentary film about the 1970 train tour of the same name across Canada taken by the Grateful Dead, Janis Joplin, The Band, Buddy Guy, the Flying Burrito Bros, and Delaney & Bonnie & Friends. Watching Buddy jam with some of these folks was awesome. I understand the tour itself lost money but the music was incredible.

    Like

  2. PTC DAWG

    I was there too….very good show….his comment about the F word and hip hop made me chuckle. Opening act wasn’t bad either…Quinn Sullivan I believe.

    Damn right I got the blues!

    Like

  3. That dog'd bite you

    I met Buddy at his club in Chicago a few years ago, and he a was such a kind gracious man. This may be my favorite music documentary ever. “Hound Dog” with him and Big Mama Thornton is great, but I thought his track at 4:45 would be enjoyed especially by folks here…

    Like

  4. Raleighwood Dawg

    Thanks for sharing, Senator … love me some Buddy Guy!

    One of my favorites of his is a cover of a John Hiatt song, Feels Like Rain. Seems apropos considering the flooding that is going on in Texas.

    Like

  5. Russ

    I stumbled across a Buddy Guy/Johnny Lang show in San Antonio several years back and it was awesome. Have seen him a couple of times since. He’s a true national treasure.

    BTW, his book is pretty good, too. I’d recommend it.

    Like