2019 Mumme Poll, Week 7

Screenshot_2019-09-30 (1) Senator Blutarsky ( MummePoll) TwitterThe results are in.

Screenshot_2019-10-16 2019 Mumme Poll - (Responses)

A total of 250 ballots were cast, so interest cooled from last week for some reason.  I wonder what that might be.  Average number of teams was 8.7 per ballot.

The breakdown by conference isn’t too surprising.

Screenshot_2019-10-16 2019 Mumme Poll - (Responses)(2)

One thing we tracked this week was how much time everyone spent putting their ballot together.  Here’s how that broke down:

Screenshot_2019-10-16 2019 Mumme Poll - (Responses)(3)

I’ll keep saying it — approval voting is so easy, a coach wouldn’t even need to outsource his vote to an SID.

A few random observations:

  • Nice South Carolina trolling from five of you.  Well played.
  • Among others receiving votes this week:  Ohio, Wyoming, Wake Forest and Louisiana.  Obviously my message about reviewing your ballot before casting it needs some work.
  • The top tier, which I define as teams appearing on at least 90% of all ballots cast, is down to five.  But keep an eye on Wisconsin.
  • As was the case last week, no team appeared on every single ballot.
  • One thing I’ll say for the Mumme Poll over the AP and Coaches Polls this week is that at least we don’t have to explain why Notre Dame is ranked higher than Georgia.

13 Comments

Filed under GTP Stuff

13 responses to “2019 Mumme Poll, Week 7

  1. Hogbody Spradlin

    Whjat’s the cutoff time? I was having trouble with the site too.

    Like

  2. aucarson

    I’m the guy who took longer than 15 minutes (at least, that’s what she said). For some reason, Google Forms didn’t accept my first ballot and I had to start over. Accidentally closing the window didn’t help, either…

    Like

  3. PTC DAWG

    ND’s loss is better than UGA’s loss.

    Like

  4. Sanford222view

    The Mumme Poll also handled Florida, Auburn, and Oregon correctly in relation to the results on the field.

    Like

  5. jhorne2000

    The google form was a great idea. I was in no mood to look for the poll, think about the poll – much less fill it out. I got an email reminder about it , and like a robot….

    Like

  6. stsbms

    Wonder if those “Louisiana” votes are really LSU votes? I know I almost selected them instead of LSU.

    Like

  7. Dylan Dreyer's Booty

    If you don’t have to try and assess where the teams need to be ranked it shouldn’t take more than 5 minutes. I just go to the form, start at the top, and ask myself: Is this team top ten worthy or not? If yes, click, and then go down the list. I am not sure how many I picked, but I think it was about 12 – 13. By the end of the season, I may only pick 8 – 9. I like the concept and think it makes as much sense as the coaches/AP/whatever polls. And btw, I picked UGA because as bad as last Saturday was to my psyche, they are still a top 10 team.

    Like

    • Jared S.

      I approach it a little differently…

      Instead of asking “is this a Top 10 team?” (whatever that means), I specifically ask, “based on the season so far, which teams would deserve to compete in a playoff system for a national title?” In other words, I imagine that every team’s season ended this week and no more games will be played, and based on what we’ve seen so far, I ask who deserves to compete in a CFP (not limited to four teams in my hypothetical)….

      That’s why I left Georgia off. But obviously they can play themselves back into consideration as the weeks roll on.

      My week 7 teams (in no order):

      Bama
      Clemson
      LSU
      Oklahoma
      tOSU
      Wisconsin
      Florida
      Penn State

      Like

      • Jared S.

        … also, now that I’m thinking about it, if UGA had won I probably would have included both UGA and Notre Dame, but since UGA lost ND has fallen out of any consideration in my mind.

        Again, as thinks currently stand, without taking into account what might be true in future weeks.

        Like

  8. Alkaline

    I’m the guy that voted for Wake Forest (on purpose). I voted for a) any P5 team with 0 or 1 losses that b) has beaten any FBS team with a winning record (3-2 or better) and c) HASN’T LOST TO A TEAM WITHOUT A WINNING RECORD.

    Wake Forest (and 12 others) made the cut… UGA did not.

    Like