Nick Saban practices his sense of humor.

He kids, he kids… I think.

“I want to be clear here. All these offensive coaches on here, I wish I could look at you when I say this to you: you guys are all part of the Taliban, man. Aight? You’re a part of Al Qaeda,” he said with a wry smile. “You have changed our game and made it so hard to play defense for all of us poor defensive guys. I can’t sit in church without shaking my leg because I’m worried about what you guys are going to do next. I do respect you, but I still think you’re part of the Taliban.”

Yeah, that seems a bit awkward.  I wonder if he conveyed that directly to Junior and Sarkisian.  Oh, what am I thinking?  Of course he did.

***************************************************************************

UPDATE:  Speaking of Junior and Sarkisian…

9 Comments

Filed under Nick Saban Rules

9 responses to “Nick Saban practices his sense of humor.

  1. Biggen

    Better than his statement about losing to UL Monroe “was as bad as 9/11” or something close to that…

    Like

  2. Derek

    When you’re right, you’re right. I do prefer this version of the same idea tho:

    I do continue to wonder if Todd Bowles found something to build on vs. KC in the super bowl. We’ll see I suppose.

    And please don’t start with the Tampa would have done it differently if KC was healthy on the OL. You don’t play man on Tyreek Hill because Mahomes can sit in the pocket all day. Thats just fucking dumb. It may have been less effective had KC been healthy on the OL but the idea of 3 and 4 deep coverages would still have made sense to keep KC from scoring in bunches.

    Deep zones, guys on the dl who can chase the qb all day long and LBs who run like safeties in between may be a way of cranking those scoring averages out of the 40’s.

    If i wanted to watch basketball, I would. I don’t.

    Football, as Gawd intended it, is to be a battle of wills between big, mean, ugly men, not a bunch of tiny gazelles running around in space, fearless because its now illegal to hurt them.

    Getting back to Nicky’s sentiment, if you think this is good football:

    https://www.espn.com/college-football/game?gameId=401114215

    Then you hate America.

    Like

    • “Football, as Gawd intended it, is to be a battle of wills between big, mean, ugly men, not a bunch of tiny gazelles running around in space, fearless because its now illegal to hurt them.”

      Envy and jealousy, Derek edition. Sums up the direction of the game with the basketball scores to prove it. Give me a 10-9 slobberknocker any day.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. artistformerlyknownasbman

    Of course he was kidding, no way Saban goes to church.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. fisheriesdawg

    Does Lane Kiffin have somebody on staff looking for places to jump in on twitter or is he really just sitting there scrolling and replying?

    Like