Nothing from nothing leaves nothing.

Siri, what is dominance?

That’s Beyond We Run This State.

28 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football, Georgia Tech Football

28 responses to “Nothing from nothing leaves nothing.

  1. RangerRuss

    The Dawgs need to ‘em the fuck up this year. Time to set some scoring records.
    Nerds.

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Kirby’s beatdown masterpiece needs to happen on Thanksgiving weekend. I want to hear the squealing of the men and the mooing of the women.

    Liked by 10 people

  3. In a slightly related note, I have an oak tree in my front yard covered in bald-faced hornets, european hornets, and giant “cicada killer” wasps. This is a relatively new development, and has just occurred over the last two weeks or so.

    Some internet sleuthing has revealed the stinging insects are attracted to the tree because it has a condition called Bacterial Wetwood, which causes it to exude “slime flux”, a sweet fermented substance that gives the stingers a “buzz.”

    Cousins of yellow-jackets drowning their sorrows in slime flux — a product of wetwood. Seems kind of gross, and apropos.

    Liked by 6 people

    • Illini84

      My rescue pup gets freaked out by the cicada noise at sunset!

      Like

    • Anon

      I’ll try a double —of the slime flucks

      Liked by 2 people

    • RangerRuss

      That’ll send me down an internet rabbit hole for sure.
      I used to actively hunt for yellowjacket nests, not only in my yard, but the surrounding woods as well. Dump a half cup of Sevin dust in their hole and that was the end of the yellow & black jaevels.
      I stopped killing them in the woods as they were responsible for keeping harmful insect pests under control. Spittle bugs became a real nuisance without the wasps to control their population.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I’ve inspected my property thoroughly to make sure the hornets don’t have nests close by (I have four young kids — don’t want them wondering into a nest…) but so far I’ve left the ones on the tree alone, because, as you suggest, they are known to be helpful in controlling other pests.

        Fortunately the hornets and giant wasps have been docile so far — another indication their nests are not close by. The hornets are “social” and have nests which they will vigorously defend, whereas the “cicada killer” wasps are solitary wasps that burrow in the ground.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Russ

        I can still remember when my dad found a yellow jacket nest in our backyard. He poured probably half a gallon of gas down the hole and then lit a match. Flames whooshed out of 3-4 holes around the yard and no more yellow jackets. This was in the 60’s when we didn’t have to worry about the environment. /s

        Liked by 3 people

        • The other day I was telling my 5-year old about when I was 5-years old and my dad found our dog menacing an armadillo in the back yard. In one swift motion my dad grabbed the balled up armadillo by the tail, swung it round and round over his head like a bola and let go, sending it sailing over our fence to the field behind.

          I don’t remember much from being 5-years old, but I remember that. Ha.

          Like

    • Ran A

      Not going to lie – I would light that tree up…. 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  4. jcdawg83

    How did they score 21 in 2018?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Corch Irvin Meyers, Former Jags Corch (2021)

    Damn. As Brett Bielema once said, “That’s borderline erotic.”

    Like

  6. Ran A

    Touched on this before, but if you were at Mark Richt Field last November (thank you Senator), then what you saw, I’m not sure you ever thought you would see; especially if you are an older Dawg.

    It was the most one-sided display of two football programs that I’ve ever seen. From the product on the field, to the fans in the stands.

    Tech let the clock run in the 2nd half; Kirby took his foot off the gas in the 3rd quarter. And it was still 45-0. Think about that!

    It was Senior Day. That was a huge mistake. Knowing Georgia is coming in and the tickets being bought up by Dawg Fans. How could you hold Senior Day on this Day? Anyone with a 1/2 brain would have moved it up to Boston’s College two weeks before. At least you out number the other team in the stands. Dawg Fans actually politely clapped for their Seniors – it was bad.

    There was ‘zero’ tension in the stands. And the concession folks were clearly happy to see all of that Red/Black. In some ways, it didn’t even feel like a game. It felt like a damn fundraiser; helping little brother out.

    And because of the long hateful history with Georgia Tech; I loved every damn minute of it and cherish the fact that this was my four year old (now 5) grandson’s 1st Georgia Football Game, held at Mark Richt Field.

    Liked by 18 people

  7. uga97

    If they wind up coachless by the time they come to Athens, we get to play 3rd & 4th stringers and still smokem. Walk out with 3 hours headstart to prep for sec game.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Here’s another statistic along similar lines:

    This century, Georgia has 17 wins over Georgia Tech, by an average of 19 points per game.

    In that span, Georgia Tech has 3 wins over Georgia, by a total of 10 points.

    Liked by 2 people