“We’re still looking for our one percent finder’s fee.”

Andy Staples has a useful primer on the history of the conference championship game.  It serves to reinforce my question about why the NCAA has say so over how a conference crowns its football champion.

But more than that, it reinforces my respect for Roy Kramer’s particular genius in seeing what a championship game could do for the SEC.  I can’t say I’m seeing the same vision from his ACC and Big 12 counterparts today as they seek to change the twelve-team, two-division format, but that’s not to say they shouldn’t have the right to screw things up if they so choose.

1 Comment

Filed under College Football, The NCAA

One response to ““We’re still looking for our one percent finder’s fee.”

  1. Bright Idea

    One thing I like about the 8 game conference schedule is that it decreases the likelihood of a rematch in the championship game. I can’t imagine the mess that choosing 2 teams after a complete round-robin would be.

    Like