Musical palate cleanser, take me down to your dance floor edition

I hadn’t heard this song for a while, but it popped up on my player and I can’t get it out of my head now – Gram Parsons’ “A Song For You”.

He may know what the song is about, but for me those lyrics have always been more about a general sense of longing and loss than anything more specific.  What really kills me about the song, though, is the poignancy of his vocals.  Parsons’ life was like something out of a Southern Gothic novel, and you can feel the pain and his inability to deal with life leaking out of every line he delivers.

When Emmylou Harris joins in, it sounds like how I imagine the angels harmonize.  Sadness has never been delivered more beautifully.

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Musical palate cleanser, take me down to your dance floor edition

  1. wilcodawg

    Senator – you have the most amazing and diverse musical interests…while we are on an upbeat note, Emmylou’s tribute to Gram, “Boulder to Birmingham”, still makes my pop (nearly 80) weep.

    Like

  2. Scorpio Jones, III

    I don’t care if people stop and stare, I’m still gonna watch the bowl game, but I might change the color of my front door before kickoff, there.

    Like

  3. Scorpio Jones, III

    I guess this is a sacrilege, but I like this one better….

    Like

  4. Tommy

    Been meaning to compliment you on your selections. I got turned on to Parsons my freshman year at UGA. About 20 years later while living in Austin, I met Neil Flanz, the pedal steel player with the Fallen Angels. Obviously, I had to ask all the fanboy questions, and he was only too happy to fill in the blanks. Sadly, much of his experience with Gram was of Parsons being too mashed with chemicals to have a relationship with most days. But he reiterated what a lot of people have said about him, that it was time to turn it on, regardless of the circumstances, he could have the whole room sobbing. Amazing command.

    Like

    • Sadly, much of his experience with Gram was of Parsons being too mashed with chemicals to have a relationship with most days.

      When the Rolling Stones ask you to leave because you’re abusing drugs and alcohol, you’re really abusing drugs and alcohol.

      Like

  5. Comin' Down The Track

    GTP. Come for the music. Stay for the sports.

    Like

  6. rchris

    Wish I coulda been a fly on the wall when he played with Stafford and Lobo. That must’ve been some kinda sound.

    Like

  7. Muttley

    What a shame he couldn’t have kept it together long enough to get where he was going.

    Like

  8. Muttley

    Incidentally, I think he went to Bolles in Jacksonville, where my dad went in the late forties, and where we’ve pulled a couple Dawgs from since.

    Like

  9. Time to go and listen to some Burrito Brothers. Sneaky Pete on steel guitar. Turn it up. G ot to see them one time, a great show.

    Like