Margin called, sucka.

Amusing story from Mack Brown:

“There are so many rumors out there, just like with NIL,” Brown said. “Are these kids making as much as they say they are? Some of them aren’t. I had a guy sitting in my office and say, ‘Coach, I’ve been offered $350,000.’ He was a recruit. I thought he was an OK player. He said, ‘I’ve been offered $350,000 to take it.’ I held up my phone and said, ‘Let’s call them now, man. You ought to take it. You need to take it before you get out of this office. I’d hold them to that if they offered you that much.’”

You have to admire, albeit perversely, a 17-year trying to bluff a coach who’s been in the business for decades and has heard more bullshit on the recruiting trail than I could possibly imagine.  Brown doesn’t go on to mention the punchline, but I’m gonna presume that kid ain’t going to North Carolina or the school with the “offer”.

13 Comments

Filed under It's All Just Made Up And Flagellant, Recruiting

13 responses to “Margin called, sucka.

  1. Can’t imagine how fast a teenager’s ego can inflate, especially when hundreds of thousands maybe millions of dollars are in the mix…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Russ

    Don’t bullshit a bullshitter.

    I never had a problem with Mack Brown. Seems like a decent guy I guess. I did read yesterday where Robert Griffin said Mack Brown offered him a scholarship to Texas on the field after the first Baylor-Texas game that Griffin played in. Mack said he made a mistake not recruiting him and offered him a scholarship to transfer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 79dawg

    You can’t outhustle a hustler, baby!

    Like

  4. Derek

    We’ve come a long way from “keep it down home cuz.”

    Like

  5. godawgs1701

    “$350,000 and a date with … Morgan Fairchild! Yeah, that’s the ticket…”

    Liked by 10 people

  6. munsoning

    I’d guess Mack invented or embroidered this story to make himself look like an old school straight shootin’ heart of gold coach.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. munsoning

    So the kid was just “an OK player” but he got one-on-one time with Mack in his office? I’m calling BS.

    Liked by 4 people

    • jcdawg83

      I imagine if you had asked Kirby about Stetson before this season and he was honest, he would have said he was an “OK player”. I read that as an “OK player” is one who is good but not a star. I’m sure any player on any team can get a one on one meeting with the head coach. If they couldn’t, word would spread quickly and recruiting would be almost impossible.

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Mack may not have fallen for that ruse, but I’m guessing Geoff Collins might.

    Liked by 3 people

  9. stoopnagle

    Mack Brown navigated the Texas booster scene for how long and some kid is going to scam him? Ok.

    Like