Daily Archives: June 19, 2007

I’ve always liked the word “moxie”.

I can only hope that the author of this Georgia Tech preview has a finely honed sense of sarcasm when he writes this about my favorite Yellow Jacket of all time:

… Although Ball completed less than half his career pass attempts, the Jackets could learn this fall that they miss the former four-year starter’s moxie and leadership skills.

Leadership skills? BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAH!!!

If Tech misses Dog’s leadership in 2007, it’s gonna be a real long season on the Flats.

1 Comment

Filed under Georgia Tech Football

The spirit is willing…

Larry Munson is 84 years old. He’s troubled by a variety of ailments. And he’s told The Macon Telegraph’s Josh Kendall that he’s “almost 50-50” on being in the broadcast booth for 2007.

… Munson, however, says he’s not so sure. His pace has slowed noticeably in the press box in recent years and is nearing a total stop now, he said.

“I can’t run, and I can’t walk,” he said. “I can’t use my hands; I can’t close my hands. It’s just so stupid.”

The new permanent 12-game regular season and increased number of night kickoffs make the season tougher on Munson, Smith said.

“After all these years, I suspect that Larry’s aches and pains are more intense now, and that probably causes him to fret a little bit more,” Smith said. “I suspect the reason he might be down, if he’s down, is he is thinking about that bus ride after that Alabama (road) game and that plane ride home after the Tennessee game.”

His retirement is something that most Georgia fans don’t want to contemplate, but is coming, nevertheless. I hope that Georgia finds a better replacement for Munson than Tennessee did for John Ward, another broadcasting legend.

Here are a few published tributes for your viewing pleasure: Georgia Trend magazine, footballspeakers.com, The Gainesville Times, The Athens Banner-Herald.

************************************************************************************

UPDATE:  According to this blurb in the AJ-C, this is starting to sound pretty seriously close to the end of the line.

1 Comment

Filed under Georgia Football