The Hargrett Library, doin’ Hargrett Library things

Seriously, how bad could this be?

26 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

26 responses to “The Hargrett Library, doin’ Hargrett Library things

  1. JCDawg83

    I’m not sure how I feel about a special display celebrating a season where we lost the biggest game we played.

    Like

    • If you’re a Georgia fan who didn’t revel in the 2017 season as it unfolded, I got no use for you.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Go Dawgs!

        Indeed. If that’s our attitude, then we should just cancel any references to any football teams besides 1942 and 1980. The other teams either lost a game or didn’t perform well enough in the wins to garner selection as national champions. Hell with ’em, right?

        I was five months old when the 1980 Bulldogs kicked off their season opener, so I can say without doubt that the 2017 Bulldogs may have been the best UGA team that I ever watched play and theirs was certainly my favorite season of football. Thanks to them, I was able to go to a Rose Bowl which was on my life list, I saw Georgia play at Notre Dame (unfortunately not in person), and we beat every major rival (one of which in payback and soul-crushing fashion for a regular season loss which somehow felt that much more sweet). They raised an SEC banner over the stadium, and they would have put two jersey numbers up in the rafters if we still did such a thing. They deserve a museum exhibit.

        Liked by 3 people

      • Senator, we need “big game” added to the Lexicon for people like JC.

        Like

      • Russ

        I was in school for 1980 season and it was magical. But the 2017 season is right up there with it in my book. I traveled to ND and the Rose Bowl, and the Rose Bowl was probably the most exciting game I’ve ever seen live.

        Like

        • Macallanlover

          As someone who vividly remembers both of those, and how I, as a UGA fan felt the excitement build weekly, 2017 was by far the greater fan experience….and it wasn’t close for me. Perhaps it is inflated by all the total immersion 24/7 of sports these days, but that was as good as it gets. And the fugged up Big 14 refs, and 2nd and 26 changes nothing for me. Even the low point of AU beating us in JH is wiped out by the revenge game in the SECCG a few weeks late.

          In 1980, we never really felt special about that team until late. Of course, we were distracted by a single player who literally eclipsed the team. In 2017 it just built from the shock of Game 1, and you could wallow in it on radio, TV, and the interwebs almost every single day/night as the nation, and us, realized this was a “real thang” in Athens. It just never disappointed. There has to be more to CFB than just one game for it to be at its best.

          Like

          • Russ

            Well said, Mac. It’s hard to compare 40 years apart, especially for all the reasons you say. That’s what made Saturdays so special back then. It was basically all the football you got until the next Saturday. During the week, it was back to the grind. The 24/7 exposure now changes things, for good and bad.

            I’ll never forget watching Herschel break free for the first time against Texas A&M and outrun several smaller guys 76 yards. I don’t think anyone had ever seen that before, and very seldom since. There was much a gasp as a cheer from the crowd.

            Like

      • JCDawg83

        I loved it as it unfolded but the end left something of a bitter taste for me. We had some great games but ultimately the season was an SEC championship season, which is nice but not what I really consider “special”. A display of items from the ’81, ’82, ’02 and ’05 seasons would celebrate the same accomplishment. All of those seasons were great as well.

        Like

        • We had some great games but ultimately the season was an SEC championship season, which is nice but not what I really consider “special”.

          I see your point. After all, winning at Notre Dame and the Rose Bowl (in OT!) is something UGA just did… checks notes… um, never before.

          Like

          • Go Dawgs!

            Don’t forget handing Tennessee their worst loss in the history of Neyland Stadium or putting up the biggest win over Florida since the upset shutout blowout of 1982.

            Like

          • JCDawg83

            Sorry, I didn’t realize the display was honoring only those two one off games. I thought it was a display about the entire season. Those two games were definitely milestone wins.

            Like

        • Go Dawgs!

          Not to be salty, but I really don’t see why a display honoring the ’81, ’82, ’02 or ’05 seasons would be somehow out of line. Those were, indeed, great teams and great seasons.

          But as the Senator notes, the ’17 team certainly did some special things that those teams didn’t.

          Like

        • HirsuteDawg

          I’m of the opinion that a “SEC championship season” IS a “special” season. Every – Single – One.

          Like

          • Macallanlover

            Amen. And that 2017 title was the best of the all (followed closely by 2002). All SEC titles are great, but some are more memorable.

            Like

    • HiAltDawg

      The low of losing the WWL Exposition Corporate Made Up Championship Game for Losers and Sucks pales in comparison to the high of winning the Rose Bowl (remember the world outside of UGA considers it one of the greatest games, ever). Not to mention getting to Fourth Quarter Cell Phone Light and explain THWGT & GATA to Notre Dame fans in their house; blanking the Vols in Knoxville; running Florida fans off in the 1st Qtr; the Flea Flicker on Don Millen and Third & Grantham; winning THE SEC title and breaking Auburn’s program for awhile. Thankfully, Coach Smart and the men that actually play the game ain’t giving the “biggest game” a second thought and are focused on what’s ahead of them.

      Like

  2. LakeOconeeDawg

    The Hargrett Library was touring around to some libraries and brought some of their Sports memorabilia to Greene Co a couple weeks ago. Some very cool stuff! From the Rose bowl they had Rodrigo’s jersey and cleats. Sony’s gloves and the ball he carried for the win among a lot of older items, pictures, etc. I highly recommend taking it in. Talking with Jason Hasty, your Blog and name did come up Senator!

    Like

  3. BigD

    2017 was awesome. Don’t get me wrong, but it was just too damn magical to end like it did.

    Like

  4. Brandon

    As magical as 2017 was, the ending was a gut punch from Mike Tyson

    Like

    • At that point, I thought the Dawgs were playing with house money, anyway, so I wasn’t as crushed as some.

      Like

      • Russ

        Same here, Senator. And I told my wife the same after the game ended. She couldn’t understand why I wasn’t more upset (she’s seen me much worse for much lesser games). Partly it was the Rose Bowl high, and partly it was I knew our team gave as good as they got. The ball just bounced the wrong way that night.

        Like

      • I agree, but it was still hard to take knowing it was so close … and, in particular, how $#!+ty the 2nd half officiating was.

        Like

  5. Salty Dawg

    I’ve been watching the Dawgs since 1969 and the 2017 season was the most special to me. I currently live over 500 miles from Athens, but I will do my best to go see this exhibit. I never really watched NFL teams, but because of Nick, Roquan, Sony, and Lorenzo being drafted, I watch any game I can if they are playing. I am happy to continue to support them by watching and buying a couple of their jerseys! GO DAWGS!!!

    Like

  6. Salty Dawg

    PS – The Rose Bowl game was THE BEST game, to me. I couldn’t even watch Clemson/AL game afterwards because it was boring compared to what I had just seen and I was on a Dawg win high!

    Like

  7. 2017 season was amazing.

    We obliterated teams all season, won the SEC, and nearly a national title.

    I loved it.

    Like