“I forgot to tell you my favorite story about running up the score.”

I’m really torn here.  Is Steve Spurrier an asshole when Georgia Tech is the butt of his mockery ($$)?

“So we’re playing Georgia Tech the next week, and we’re going up and down the field like we did against almost everybody and we threw the ball, stayed in four wides on the 1- and 2-yard line. They didn’t know what was going on. One time they didn’t even cover our wide receiver. I heard the public address announcer, ‘Steve Slayden has just tied the ACC record for touchdowns in a game with five,’ and there were seven minutes left.”

Spurrier went to Slayden on the sideline and told him he was going to get that record.

The following Monday, a reporter from the Atlanta Journal-Constitution called Duke athletics director Tom Butters.

“He said, ‘Mr. Butters, you’re a sportsman, you believe in fair play and treating people right. What do you think about your coach running up the score on Georgia Tech last week?’ (Butters) said, ‘Let me tell you how I feel about that. I have been the athletic director at Duke for 22 years now and this is the first time anyone has ever accused my football coach of running up the score and to tell you the truth, I sort of like it.’ That was a good one.”

(Why do I have the feeling Furman Bisher was the reporter?  Ah, but I digress.)

I think I’m just relieved his favorite story doesn’t involve the Dawgs.

13 Comments

Filed under Georgia Tech Football, The Evil Genius

13 responses to ““I forgot to tell you my favorite story about running up the score.”

  1. Hogbody Spradlin

    Furman Bisher, you mean the man who libelled Wally Butts?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ApalachDawg aux Bruxelles

    Three of my most despised personas in that arricle
    Spurrier
    Nerds
    FBisher

    Liked by 1 person

  3. drunkenmonken

    Once a dick, always a dick. How Steve it is!

    Like

  4. 79dawg

    Bisher is the obvious choice, but that almost sounds like something Mr. CW would do…

    Like

  5. RangerRuss

    Steve Stepped On His Skirt Spurrier is an asshole 24/7/365. He was born an asshole and he’ll be an asshole the rest of his life.
    Fuck that motherfucker.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. classiccitycanine

    I’ll never complain about someone running up the score on Tech.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. tenesseewasnevergreat

    Spurrier got his in the end when Grayson Lambert set an all time NCAA passing record while hanging half a hundred on him. How did the Ol’ Ball Coach respond when the roles were reversed? Well, he quit on his team midseason and decided he didn’t want to play anymore. Small dick energy if I have ever seen it.

    Liked by 5 people