Yeah, I like spring football. Sue me.

Saw something in yesterday’s comments about blowing off the spring FCS schedule.  If you missed yesterday’s national championship game, you missed a good ‘un.  The weather dominated the first half, but once the rain stopped, both teams got some traction and the game was a real nail biter.

You also missed seeing the most dynamic player in FCS this season, Jequez Ezzard, who scored two touchdowns and had a third called back because of a penalty.  He’s more quick than fast, but he’s incredibly shifty.

South Dakota State took a late lead on this impressive run by a true freshman.

https://twitter.com/RespectDaBeard1/status/1394047697947021312

That is one badass stiff arm.

That wasn’t the last score of the game, though.  This, with less than twenty seconds left in the game, was.

Great game — Sam Houston’s third straight come from behind win in the playoffss — and the Houston fans loved it.

So did Ezzard.

I know it’s not the most practical idea, but FCS really ought to think about moving to the spring full time.  They’d lose some of that sweet guarantee money and there are logistics with the NFL draft to consider, but it’s nice not having D-1 ball cover what they’re up to.

*************************************************************************

UPDATE:

Talk about if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it…

21 Comments

Filed under College Football

21 responses to “Yeah, I like spring football. Sue me.

  1. ApalachDawg aux Bruxelles

    Ezzard was coached by Ricky Bobby…sometimes you just piss excellence.

    Like

  2. DaveinAZ

    Agree. I was traveling to Kiawah so I missed this one. But I love college football any time.

    Like

  3. Ran A

    Not going to lie. Didn’t even hit my radar. The videos were fun to watch. clearly missed a great game.

    This is a to each his own. And I think there is a strong enough audience there, that hit would really help these schools financially.

    As far at the NFL goes; how many kids are actually drafted at this level. They could easily work out a pool of kids to bring into one place and to give a look. Put t o the school. If this becomes a money maker, then they foot the bill for travel… NFL foots the bill for the facility used.

    Like

  4. RangerRuss

    I love
    Winners when they cry
    Losers when they try…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Biggen

    What I watched looked very sloppy. Kick out of bounds in last minutes in the game when you have a lead. A white boy running for an 80 yard TD after the opposing teams wiffs about 5 times trying to tackle him.

    I really thought it was poor football to be honest.

    Like

  6. Skeptic Dawg

    How in the world did anyone miss the first round of the men’s NCAA lacrosse tourney this weekend? Loyola vs Denver yesterday was one an incredible game with a fantastic finish. FCS football? No thank you.

    Like

    • Down Island Way

      Major concern with UGA womens tennis vs cavaliers…(and the minor concern UGA baseball vs hogtown)…UGA men tennis today vs nc…

      Like

  7. Hogbody Spradlin

    Sam Houston State, where Terry Hoage’s father teaches/taught?

    Like

  8. Would make promotion/relegation possible too w/ out having to wait 12 months!!!

    Like

  9. CB

    I’m all I’m for spring football. I went to a few Mercer games myself. Something I enjoy, but almost never do during the fall, even when they offer me $100 or so to work the booth.

    Side note: the Ezzard kid at SHS is from College Park GA.

    Also, I wouldn’t be shocked to see the running back from SDS in the portal. 6’1 220 freshman with that kind of power and speed? He could definitely carve out a role for himself at a P5 program.

    Like

  10. I agree Bluto…keep spring ball where it is for FCS…it serves as a nice bridge to get through “talkin season” when we all over speculate which recruit will announce or argue about who will start in the fall, and the FCS teams don’t get drowned out by what used to be called div 1. Sure the game was a little wonky, but I like “amateur athletics”…hell SD State even tried a little lateral pass at the end…truly the closest thing to backyard football that is on tv.

    Like

  11. otto1980

    I watched a few of the FCS playoff games, and yes they may have had more errors than Bama vs Clemson. However, they were some of the most fun games I’ve watched.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. rugbydawg79

    Watching Major League Rugby is my fix for now. Incredible action.

    Like

    • 69Dawg

      Ever watch the NRL games from down under. Faster than Premier Rugby and less scrums. I watched it on FS! and got hooked.

      Like

  13. Morris Day

    Dammit. I had the game on until the weather delay. Changed channel and forgot all about it!

    Like