Musical palate cleanser, won’t back down edition

It’s bad enough to watch my rock icons from the sixties and seventies fall by the wayside, but this?

Tom Petty, a songwriter who melded California rock with a deep, stubborn Southern heritage, died on Monday after suffering cardiac arrest. He was 66 and had lived in Los Angeles.

Tony Dimitriades, Mr. Petty’s longtime manager, confirmed the death.

Recording with the Heartbreakers, the band he formed in the mid-1970s, and on his own, Mr. Petty wrote pithy, hardheaded songs that gave a contemporary clarity to 1960s roots. His voice was grainy and unpretty, with a Florida drawl that he proudly displayed.

Damn.

Mr. Petty’s songwriting was shaped by the music he heard growing up: the ringing folk-rock guitars of the Byrds, the crunch of the Rolling Stones, the caustic insights of Bob Dylan, the melodic turns of the Beatles, the steadfast backbeat of Southern soul and the twang of country-rock…

But across styles, Mr. Petty kept his songwriting tight-lipped, succinct and evocative: “She was an American girl, raised on promises,” he sang on Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ 1976 debut album. “She couldn’t help thinkin’ / That there was a little more to life somewhere else.”

Those two paragraphs really nail it for me.  “American Girl” is what drew me to Petty.  I heard the song when Roger McGuinn covered it almost at the same moment Petty’s first album was released.  That opening line was perfect and the Byrds-y Rickenbacker guitar work was icing on the cake.

The man had one hell of a career.  I’m not going to sit here and try to pick a favorite song — go ahead and share that in the comments — although I did spend my time yesterday after hearing the news listening and re-listening to his somewhat underrated Wildflowers.  Instead, I’m going to share a song that’s not even on a Petty album.

“King of the Hill” is a song he co-wrote and performed with McGuinn and it’s a complete mesh of their styles.  Gorgeous harmonies, ringing guitars and slightly cynical lyrics make for a great tune.

I’m gonna miss that high, lonesome sound.  Sigh.

38 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

38 responses to “Musical palate cleanser, won’t back down edition

  1. MDDawg

    He has (had?) an amazing catalog of hits, but I always thought the song Walls was an underrated gem.

    Like

  2. Got Cowdog

    “Rebels”

    Like

    • HiAltDawg

      The opening line: “Honey don’y you walk out, I’m too drunk to follow” has saved my relationship an embarrassing number of times

      Like

  3. budro

    This one hurts. One of my favorites: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D7uNI0EIY3c

    Like

  4. budro

    I keep thinking about all those bands out there who were playing Tom Petty songs last night, and I keep thinking about how none of them were going to pull it off. Because you might have a guitar player who can nail some of those Mike Campbell licks, and you might have a drummer who knows some of those Stan Lynch fills, but you don’t have a singer who can sing it like Tom Petty.

    Like

  5. Dolly Llama

    “Wildflowers” was indeed an underappreciated gem of an album. “It’s Good to Be King” is the most underappreciated song on there.

    Like

  6. Mad Mike

    Walls and Mary Janes’s Last Dance are tied for my favorites.

    Like

    • Nate Dawg

      Mary Jane’s Last Dance came out my jr year of high school I think…lots of competition but this has to take first place by a nose…

      Like

  7. Idlewild Dawg

    Change the Locks, Swingin’, Louisiana Rain

    Like

  8. Got Cowdog

    Something about TP’s voice always said “South” to me. And his early stuff, Wow. “Breakdown” was universally sung at top volume in whatever ride we were in, back in the day. “You got lucky”: One of my girlfriends (Friend zone type, but boy she was something) singing that with her feet up on my dashboard ……….
    Good times. Thanks Tom.

    Like

  9. WF Dawg

    Some personal favorites: Learning to Fly (esp. the version from the Live Anthology Album), Wallflowers, Free Falling, Walls.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. W Cobb Dawg

    Always liked ‘Don’t come around here no more’. Great song, but sad to learn he won’t be around to sing it.

    Like

  11. sniffer

    1978 (?) Uncle Toms Tavern, Memorial Drive in Stone Mountain. First set, first song, “I Need To Know”. Done.

    TP, you will be missed.

    Like

  12. ApalachDawg

    Southern Accents- makes you proud to be a southerner

    Like

  13. Silver Britches

    The correct answer is, “Breakdown.”

    Like

  14. Wore the grooves right off this one a quarter at a time in the O’Leary’s jukebox in Macon in 1981. When a singer/songwriter sings your song using your band, you gotta be doing something right. He was one of the few good things that ever came out of Hogtown.

    Like

    • DB

      Forgot about the look she gave him at the the 2:53 mark. Wow. I think they had a thing at one time. What a loss. His songs made up the music of my adulthood more than I realized.

      Like

  15. KornDawg

    I’ve always loved “Kings Highway” and “Love is a Long Road.”

    Like

  16. Doiknowu

    “Breakdown”, “I Need To Know”, and “Red River”, not necessarily in that order.

    Like

  17. dawgfan

    Gregg Allman and Tom Petty in the same year, enough already. Nobody can rock like Tom Petty did and cover Hank Williams properly. He never forgot his roots.

    Like

    • Erk's Forehead

      Yep. And that rock and country roots combo explains my own kinda odd favorite: his cover of John Sebastian’s “The Stories We Could Tell” on the mid-80s live double album. Complete w reference to Hank’s guitar in a case in the Country Music Hall of Fame. “…And if we ever wonder why we ride this carousel, we do it for the Stories We Could Tell…” Lovely. Rest well, man.

      Like

  18. Governor Milledge

    And no one has yet to mention his Travelling Wilburys collaboration. Incredible collection of work

    Like

  19. Dawglicious

    “You Got Lucky”…about the coolest video ever made and my introduction to Tom Petty. I love that song so much. “Jammin’ Me”, “Runnin’ Down a Dream”, and “You Wreck Me” are gonna get me a speeding ticket one day.

    Like

  20. ‘Time to Move On’ is my personal favorite.

    Like

  21. Raleighwood Dawg

    Very hard to pick a favorite. I remember humming along to “Here Comes My Girl” while walking the halls during high school ~ 1980. Lotta good memories through the years while listening to Tom Petty.

    Like

  22. Petty played a big part of the soundtrack to my childhood. It’s so sad that he has passed and I never got the chance to catch him live. I loved all his music, and picking a favorite is damn near impossible. You Don’t Know How It Feels, jumped out at me as soon as the news hit yesterday. This following track though, a cover of While My Guitar Gently Weeps, is legendary to me. A tribute to George Harrison, and the collab with Prince, another of my childhood icons, is electric. The story behind it, even better. Harrison’s son originally didn’t want Prince to take part, because he wasn’t aware how well he could play, but Petty convinced him. And at the end, when Prince tossed his guitar, Petty said no one on stage ever saw it come down and they still don’t know how he pulled it off. RIP to 2 of the greatest to ever make music.

    Like

  23. One foot in the grave and one foot on the pedal

    My first concert- 1985 at the Omni.

    Like

  24. The Dawg abides

    Yesterday was just one big kick to the gut. I learned a lesson the hard way, passed up Petty’s last tour, assuming I would get another chance to see him live. I had a choice to attend Gregg’s laid back fest at Lakewood or go to Jax last year. I made the right decision and witnessed Gregg’s last live performance. Don’t pass up a chance to see the music you love. Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. TMC DAWG

    Saw him for the first time at Phillips this past April. Great Great show. He will be missed

    Like

  26. WarD Eagle

    Favorite cover of a favorite Petty song…

    Like