“The combination of Stetson and JT to get them both prepared because they’re our two quarterbacks right now.”

Not that I would expect anything different, but Kirby Smart still isn’t showing his cards about who his starting quarterback will be Saturday.

“He’s looked good,” Smart said of Daniels. “He’s done a good job. I would be remiss if I could tell you everything he did today. That’s why when I hang up this call, I go in and watch it and see it visually with my eyes because a lot of times in practice I’m watching it from a defensive perspective. Then at night, I watch it from a quarterback perspective. I also talk to Coach Monken and the offensive staff about it. He’s done a good job. I wouldn’t say that there’s been a lot of limitations. It doesn’t seem like there’s been limitations in terms of what he can and can’t do.”

The possibility exists that Daniels was available for the Kentucky game a little over a week ago. He seemed comfortable throwing the ball 35 to 40 yards prior to the game and he was fully taped, suggesting that he was ready to enter the game if needed.

I have no idea who gets the nod.  What I do find amusing are all the suggestions about why, based on stats or feels, Bennett or Daniels has to be the guy.  For some reason, I have the sense that Smart and Monken will have their own set of reasons behind their final decision.

13 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

13 responses to ““The combination of Stetson and JT to get them both prepared because they’re our two quarterbacks right now.”

  1. Spell Dawg

    As much as I’d love to see us up 21 quick points by the end of the first quarter, I’m really hoping to see some long, punishing drives. We are missing Milton, but we get McIntosh back. I don’t care which QB we see, but I’d so love seeing Stetson get more yards than Richardson running on them.

    Liked by 5 people

  2. If JT is fully healthy and doesn’t show rust in practice, he starts. Otherwise, it’s SBIV. I don’t see any other scenario here.

    Either way, I’m confident our guys keep taking care of business because I’m sure this defense has had last year’s film drilled into them and they want to show the world how dominant they are.

    Liked by 6 people

  3. armydawg

    This is only my gut talking but I have a feeling that Kirby & Monken have a plan that includes both QB’s playing and showing some things that no one has seen yet that will cause Dopey Dan to have a thermo-nuclear meltdown and cause Towel-Boy to pee his pants and pack his bags.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. goose44ga

    Kirby may have known for two weeks who is going to start at the Cocktail Party. If I learned anything about Kirby in the last 5 years it’s that he ain’t letting that information out. FTMF

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Geezus

    I think JT starts and they both play, just like earlier in the season. Prior to the injury, Kirby flatly stated on several occasions that JT is the starter, I don’t see how that would change now. I certainly don’t see anything JT did that would necessitate him losing the starting job, other than having the audacity to get hurt.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Dylan Dreyer's Booty

    I don’t know anything about what is in Kirby’s mind, but if JT is doing well, I would like to see him start. I think that Stetson would be okay with that, and be ready to come in if JT wasn’t accustomed to the speed of the game enough. I suppose our D is fast enough in practice to test JT, but practice isn’t a live game. That is why I would have liked to see JT in a couple of series against UK.

    Like

  7. whb209

    I trust our coaches.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. moe pritchett

    Hope SBIV starts so he can get his recompense for last year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think this is going to be some of the thinking to fire up the team. Let Stetson start to show he’s ready, but pretty certain JT gets in for some early series. Grantham’s defensive posture will determine who stays in.

      Like