Wednesday morning buffet

A warm buffet for a cold morning.

46 Comments

Filed under ACC Football, Auburn's Cast of Thousands, Georgia Football, Phil Steele Makes My Eyes Water, Recruiting, Science Marches Onward, SEC Football, Stats Geek!, Strategery And Mechanics, The Body Is A Temple

46 responses to “Wednesday morning buffet

  1. pete

    On the situation with the Auburn players vs the lady Vet…I understand that some of these kids come from a depressed home-life and I’m sure many of them have built-up anger. But what I’ve never understood is how they release their inner anger on the weak and innocent. If you want to be a bad-ass pick on a ‘Mike Tyson’ kind-of person…he’ll help you release some of that built-up anger.

    Like

  2. Would the story of the two AU players get this much attention if the young lady was not a vet, while I don’t know the details and was not there, the kissing noises and whistling is how I get my dogs attention, this seems a little blown out of proportion to me, on the vet’s part. But them calling her names after the fact is pretty low down

    Like

    • Dawgfan Will

      Most service dogs have garments over their sides that say something to the effect that they are service dogs and should not be interacted with or distracted. Assuming the two players in question could read, they were being enormous d-bags before she asked them to stop.

      Like

  3. If this happened in the workplace, these two idiots would be terminated. Immediately. And someone would probably get sued, successfully. But at “Second Chance U”, this will probably not warrant any real punishment. It’s one of the reasons I covet the Mark Richts of the world. But I don’t think this is an isolated event. We keep putting atheletes on pedestals, complete with 5 star ratings and ’round the clock press coverage, with little regard for who they are as individuals or students. I don’t care what their background might be or how great they can tote the rock. I don’t want to watch them on Saturday if I wouldn’t want to be around them any other day of the week.

    Like

  4. joe

    I have a feeling that after 4 years, people will look back on Shea Patterson’s college career with disappointment. I also imagine that his 5th year will be spent starting for LA tech, and their new head coach Sean Patterson, jr.

    Like

    • Cojones

      That projection would be spot on for these characters. “Quality control analyst” is fast becoming a buzz word spelled A-G-E-N-T.

      Like

  5. while I don’t know the details and was not there, Jeepers. Bluto posted the link and in it she stated it’s not okay to make fun, call names and continue to make noises at the dog when asked not to… or something to that effect. Whistle or kissy noise at Your dog all you want. When I’m out walking my dog that’s not cool at all, especially if you’re asked politely to stop it.
    The fact she was a vet explains the PTSD and service dog. Do you think that fact that she is a woman is another yet another reason for the attention? It doesn’t mention race. If she was black and the players white would Al Sharpton be on campus- then it would be a really big deal? I don’t know. But the players were being bullies. That’s pretty plain.

    Like

    • BoroDawg

      Yes, it would be front page news if she was black and the players white. Could you imagine the outrage if it would have been a Georgia player?

      Like

      • Gad I hate to come to the aid of Auburn criminals but this lady sounds like she was already very fragile and/ or paranoid.. Sounds like a simple hello could potentially set her off. Of the three people I know with psychological” service animals, two are complete frauds. Pardon me if I withhold judgement. Non service related PTSD what the F is that “life”?

        Like

        • JTP

          Of the one poster’s comment that I replied to today, one is an asshole.

          Like

        • Cojones

          “Non-combat related”, dumbass. You don’t get a service dog for non-service related. Some Service Dogs are retired to civilian adopters, but most are adopted by service personnel. They are no longer Service Dogs in the sense that this one was.

          On top of all your ignorance, you don’t even know what PTSD means nor how those people came to acquire it. You should educate yourself and quickly before someone gives you “Service Dog Anxiety” with a shot to the chops. Same goes for the two players.

          I’d love to have her dog for a month. I’d teach it to welcome all people who want to touch or pet it and turn it into teeth, hair and large eyeballs when anyone whistles.

          Like

          • I repeat…. you can purchase a vest that says “service dog”on the internet for about $20.00 shipping and handling. I repeat….I know people who put a “service dog” vest on their pets that are no more a trained service animal than a cat. You dumb asses are the ones jumping to conclusions like a) it’s a trained service dog,2)the dog was given to her by the military(they usually aren’t) . I’ve represent vets so I do know what PTSD is and I know it is the psychological flavor of the month, It is over diagnosed and I’m always skeptical of it if the vet did not actually see combat or at least was in theater ,which I think is difficult if you didn’t leave the country. I believe the follow up the article validates my suspicions.
            I also see drug and bomb dogs in Court all the time and it has always appeared to me that a well trained one can be approached and petted. I make a habit of asking the handler if it is ok and it almost always has been as long as they weren’t working or I was holding. I’ll accept apologies at your convience.

            Like

            • DawgPhan

              Just because a female is in public doesnt mean she wants to be approached. She felt harassed. That is the end of the subject.

              It’s not your right as a man to approach and harass any woman you see in public and you certainly dont have the right to feel offended when she lets you know that she doesnt want your attention.

              Who goes around trying to get the attention of service dogs, regardless if you think the animal is a legitimate service animal or not. Leave the animals alone.

              Like

              • Just because a female is in public doesnt mean she wants to be approached. She felt harassed. That is the end of the subject.
                Really?That subjective “feeling” of harassment has to be accompanied by some objective facts that justify a reasonable person interpreting another s actions as actually being harassment or you have raving paranoids criminalizing normal societal interaction. We’re reading the same incomplete news accounts but I simply chose to give the benefit of the doubt to two kids who see a dog and want to pet it . Whoa what a concept.. a dog gets approached and an alleged rape victim who is allegedly suffering PTSD is playing the victim card. I submit the most important unanswered question is has her disability claim with the VA been adjudicated or she trying to make her case for disability better. I know this comes as a shock to some people but people will claim that they have problems they don’t actually have if they can financially benefit from doing so. Did you read the reddit eye-witness account?Were the sorority girls that approached this dog ,not the girl, harassing this girl or is harassment something only males can do?
                Cojones…. the VA does make a very significant evidence distinction between PTSD that occurs in theater and non in theater. In theater PTSD is presumed related to service whereas if it did not occur in theater there is no such presumption and disability is much harder to collect.

                Like

                • DawgPhan

                  Just so you know. You are wrong.

                  It doesnt matter what you think of her sexual assault, or her PTSD.

                  Harrassment doesnt need to be objective. She felt it. She let the harassers know that she felt it. They responded by cussing at her.

                  The correct and only response when someone tells you that they are being bothered by you is to apologize and quickly go on your way.

                  Just because you see a dog does not mean that you have the right to interact with that dog, or try and draw the dogs attention. That dog is not yours. That dog belongs to someone else and you should respect that.

                  Like

                • I think you should learn to be much more sensitive to the dog”s feelings.. Maybe the dog didn’t “feel” harassed. Maybe the dog didn’t feel like it belonged to anyone. Maybe it was on campus that day to inquire into getting a degree in Canine Studies and help free it’s species from this evil subjugation of women who claim they as dogs belong to anyone other than themselves.
                  Maybe you should read the update …the eyewitness said the players did not cuss her…… they reacted to a person screaming at them in a public place like Haley center. Read the reddit update, Eyewitnesses are a primary source not the secondary news reports..All this started because the first news reports sounded strange and I ,hating Auburn as much as anyone on this blog,expressed some skepticism regarding the news reports and I believe rather than being wrong to be skeptical the eyewitness says I was right to be skeptical
                  I’m sorry I can’t validate your feelings about me being wrong because if I did than we both would be wrong. I think I’ll go harass my wife,daughter and paralegal now. I would call my son up at UGA and harass him but ,in your world I’m not sure it is possible to harass a male.

                  Like

            • Cojones

              Did you read what her PTSD resulted from while in the military? PTSD comes in different flavors and harassing a woman who has been through that trauma is insensitive,but the players had no way of knowing. That doesn’t excuse their behavior in the least. You, however, have the ability to read and know after the fact. Her PTSD trauma would also account for her actions afterwards. I suspect it wouldn’t take much to traumatize her again, but your insensitivity to her plight after the fact is pissy and your attempt to cover that up is taking your ignorance to another level.

              I guess we all are pretty tough hiding behind the computer, but that’s no excuse not to understand her reaction from trauma that’s similar to why she was treated for PTSD. Do the words “post traumatic” register at all with you? I have belonged to vets groups since the mid seventies and have seen the syndrome many times before it was ever identified and treated in soldiers who were point men or crawled into “spider holes” after VC and survived. The trauma hit them much later and nearly everyone can identify with their condition. Just because it’s a woman and a different kind of PTSD is no reason to denigrate it’s affect and not understand her fright.

              Like

              • Cojones

                For some dumb reason, you think PTSD only occurs in combat or theater. I doubt seriously that you have ever interfaced with veteran groups in your life. I do so currently in So Ga/No Fl, just to let you know where I’m coming from.

                This woman’s life has been ruined forever. Piling on with excuses for ignorant jerks means you don’t really believe in such a syndrome. It happened to her while in the military and that’s why she is given a service dog. If she had been in civilian life, would that have made a difference to you? It isn’t just a military diagnosis, rather, that’s where it’s seen most often. You probably don’t even believe in Psychiatry, do you?

                Like

  6. Russ

    I thought we had the #1 QB in the country for next year? Or did he get Dawggraded like Trent Thompson did this year?

    Like

    • PatinDC

      I was coming to ask the same question.
      Great minds think alike 😉

      Like

    • mp

      Just by the Mississippi press. They got it wrong. The kid they’re writing about is the #3 QB, not #3 overall. UGA has the commitment from the #1 QB.

      Like

      • mp

        Just saw this was a USA Today article, but it is basically a regurgitation of an article I saw on Twitter yesterday from a Mississippi paper. USA Today kept the mistake in their article.

        I went to Rivals and 247 Sports because I had the same question, and was wondering if the Ole Miss kid was a dual threat QB or something, but no…pro style just like Eason.

        Like

  7. DugLite

    UGA at -0.89 on luck has the GaTech game written all over it.

    Like

  8. soccerdawg

    I know the Russell kid. He is a good kid from Carrollton. Don’t know all the facts, and not condoning any misconduct, but don;t jump to conclusions about the kid from this article.

    Like

  9. Scorpio Jones, III

    I had an email from the Kharmic Bitches Communications Director early this morning, the essence of which was “anybody who say luck don’t happen is a idiot.”

    Its all part of the process.

    Like

  10. LSU has just been “Tunsil”ed by Ole Miss

    Like

  11. Mr Steele…… we don’t have a starting QB, Have you ever heard of Joe Cox. We’ll be lucky to be top 25. Good team but we will not win the close ones and Bama will undoubtedly crush our egos…down hill from there.

    Like