“Adam Smith would be proud.”

Preach, brother, preach.

5 Comments

Filed under It's Just Bidness, The NCAA

5 responses to ““Adam Smith would be proud.”

  1. Hogbody Spradlin

    Oh, I think I’m going to faint!

    Like

  2. chopdawg

    “A comprehensive 2016 NCAA study found that only 24 athletic departments turned a profit and the median loss among the 129 playing football at the highest level was $18 million. Now pay each of your 500 athletes a $30,000 salary, and you just added $15 million to your annual budget.”

    1) Only 24 depts turned a profit? Wow.

    2) Who came up with the $30K figure?

    Like

  3. Dabo Swinney

    Gosh, you’ve lost me. I guess I’m going to have to take my millions and millions and go find another way to somehow support my family. I promise I will do it. I’m serious. Gosh, I just don’t get all of this entitlement.

    Like

  4. Just Chuck (The Other One)

    Not a pretty picture.
    Like Chop, I wonder where the $30,000 figure came from.
    And, a median loss of $18 million among the 129 programs with a loss? It may be just bookkeeping but that couldn’t be sustainable long term. Might we be seeing some programs dropping football or just raising athletic fees for students to cover it?

    Like

  5. Cojones

    Folks, our appreciation of fine young men sacrificing their all for the good of our alma mater has been sold down the road by a shoe company that decided they could mess with collegiate sports on a mass-cal level.

    Sure looks like the old “slide’em the Benjamin” is relegated to the piker level. Sigh.

    Like