This is what I’m talking about.

As much as I enjoyed mocking Paul Johnson, from a Georgia perspective, having a Georgia Tech head coach who couldn’t recruit his way out of a paper bag if you gave him a flash light and shoved him towards the open end wasn’t a good thing, because it made the state a more inviting place for rival SEC programs to come in and harvest talent.

So let me be the first to say I welcome our new Waffle House overlord — not over Kirby Smart, but the rest of the usual suspects.

Georgia Tech picked up a landmark commitment for its 2022 recruiting class Saturday, when four-star safety Jaron Willis from Lee County High announced his decision to accept a scholarship offer to join the Yellow Jackets.

Willis is rated the No. 17 prospect in the state of Georgia (247Sports Composite) and also the No. 150 overall prospect in the country…

In March, Willis listed six finalists – Tech, Arkansas, Florida, Florida State, Kentucky and Ole Miss.  [Emphasis added.]

Tech can make a good living in the ACC with in state recruits that Smart passes on.  Good for them.  And if along the way the Jackets make life on the recruiting trail harder for the likes of Dan Mullen, good for us.

23 Comments

Filed under Georgia Tech Football, Recruiting

23 responses to “This is what I’m talking about.

  1. 81Dog

    The enemy of my enemy? Also my enemy. Tech, Florida, the ACC, etc? Put them all in a bag and drop them into the Hooch, or on a rocket that gets fired into the sun. FTMFs, every single one. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Ran A

    Oh, I don’t know. I’m old enough to remember Tech’s few good runs over the last 40 years. It is a different level of obnoxious behavior that I can do without seeing again. I like stepping on them like the doormat they are.

    Liked by 8 people

  3. When Dopey can’t even get a South Georgia kid over Coach 404, that’s a really bad look.

    Dopey thinks, “Oh, well, I have a morning tee time at Great Waters to get to.”

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hogbody Spradlin

    I had to retire my favorite nickname when he retired: Paul the Johnson.
    Well, second favorite. Corch is still No. 1 but Corrine gets credit for Corch.

    Like

  5. ApalachDawg aux Bruxelles

    nerds

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 86bone

    Fuck tech

    Liked by 2 people

  7. ericstrattonrushchairmandamngladtomeetyou

    Coach 404 isn’t the answer for Tech. 2 more losing seasons….then outta there!

    Like

  8. classiccitycanine

    I’m more than happy to see Tech keep kids away from the likes of UF, UT, and USCe. That can only help UGA.

    Like

  9. Dylan Dreyer's Booty

    What? We weren’t even on the list for consideration? Fire Kirby! /s

    Like

  10. Bud Elliott harps on this all the time: Tech hasn’t gone head to head with UGA on a recruit and won is something like 15 years.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Twelve comments (so far) and no “cannon shot” reference? C’mon, y’all.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. TripleB

    Good for that kid too. A degree from Tech could be a big deal for a kid from down here. I’m hearing he will have a big year, so I hope he stays with his commitment (unless we decide to recruit him!).

    Like

  13. stoopnagle

    Man, I hate we didn’t figure out a way to play tech in ’20. 5 years is a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Dawg in Austin

    Exactly what I thought yesterday when I saw that, Senator. Keep on truckin, Geoff. Lots of low 4-stars and 3-stars in this state you can keep out of the SEC.

    Like

  15. 123 Fake St

    What’s his GPA?

    Like