Night games are the new nooners.

The Dawgs have another one coming.

18 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

18 responses to “Night games are the new nooners.

  1. lincolndawg

    To quote Lloyd Christmas, “I like it a lot.”

    Liked by 5 people

  2. godawgs1701

    let’s go!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Call me an old fart who needs to die off so the “real” fans can have fun (I don’t care), and I know it was UAB and all, but I sure hope all these folks who love night games will show up for UK. There were a lot of empty seats on Saturday and a whole bunch of folks bailed before the fourth quarter light show.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jcdawg83

      Saturday should have sent a clear message to BM that the fans are sick of cupcake games in Athens. I’ve been to weekday basketball games in Athens where there was more electricity in the air than the UAB game.

      Like

      • I get that some fans can’t get excited about watching the Dawgs play UT-Martin, Ball State and UAB. It doesn’t get your blood boiling, and I think that attitude has somewhat spilled over to the team. They’ve played, in the first half of three of the first four games, like they weren’t very interested. Personally, I have season tickets so I can watch the Dawgs play in Sanford Stadium, and so long as our traditional rivals stay on the schedule, I’m not going to quibble over the rest of it, but that’s just me. My husband prefers to stay home so he can watch 4-5 games on any given Saturday; we all have our preferences. This year has been particularly bad because we had to give up the Oklahoma game (not the AA’s fault), and the non-conference games were all front-loaded to start with, but even when the SEC eventually goes to nine games, there will still be a need for two such games on the schedule (players need a week here or there to heal to make it through a season and the playoffs that are coming). What needs to happen in the future for the fans and the team is for these kinds of games to be better spaced out. We got stuck with a crappy early schedule, but a great deal of that fault lays with the conference schedule planners, not B-M. Hopefully they’ll get it figured out once everyone settles down to conference expansion and acceptance of a nine-game reality.

        Liked by 2 people

    • Russ

      I was there. The stadium filled up pretty well for a cupcake. Yeah, cleared out early in the 4th. Made in and out easy.

      Like

  4. legatedawg

    Seems likely to me that the weekend after, October 14, we will draw the nooner (out here on the West Coast I call it the niner) for Georgia @Vandy as the other SEC games that day appear more evenly matched: Arkansas @Alabama, Texas A&M @Tennessee, Florida @South Carolina, Kentucky @Missouri, and Auburn @LSU.

    Like

    • treybliss

      Actually, we may benefit depending on choice of that falling to the 4:00 SEC network game. ESPN might have a marquis SEC spot set for noon.

      Like

    • fisheriesdawg

      Good for Vanderbilt playing as the road team in Nashville when they can get 11 am starts and keep the crowd out of the game.

      Like

  5. dawginsga

    I’m in the old fart age range, but I enjoy the night games even if it means getting into bed a 1:30 AM.

    Liked by 5 people

  6. David D

    Well, crap. These night games inconveniently delay my ability to scream “Dammit Bobo” at my television.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. winodawg

    I enjoy the night games, but my seven-year-old does not.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Illini84

    I don’t know. Since I lost my season tix I only have access to 600 level (which wa fine for the Vols beat down!) and, with my limited mobility, the hump up that hill is a stone bitch. I’ll have to see how I feel.

    Like

  9. uga97

    Also “High Noon Deon” about to realize his new reality with Mickey too.

    Like

  10. otto1980

    The only other game of much interest IMO is the Red River Shootout at Noon.

    If I were going to the game plenty of time to get to the stadium after OU/Texas. The biggest down side of 7:30 kick offs is the drive back home. I’ve taken some out of my way routes to get home in the I75 north metro area.

    Like

    • otto1980

      Also, Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta is the next week. A UGA afternoon game and Petit has made for a fun trip on the 85 corridor. Glad we’re back to the race being scheduled when UGA is out of town.

      Like

  11. FlyingPeakDawg

    Already have my morning tee time set.

    Like